Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Metro Creative Graphics
Metro Creative Graphics

U-17 Machine, U-10 Raptors win at NPSL International Tournament

Fri, Jul 14th 2023 07:00 am


Highlights from the Niagara Pioneer International Soccer Tournament, held July 8-9 at Fort Niagara State Park, included the Niagara Pioneer Machine winning the boys under-17 division, and the boys under-10 NPSL Raptors winning all three games played.

The Machine opened with a 3-0 win over Rush Henrietta. Drew Leardini had two goals and Luke Leardini scored once. Their second game was a 3-0 win against Spencerport, with two goals from Anthony Scott and one from Luke Leardini.

The Machine went on to beat Wayne United by a 3-1 score, on two goals from Matty Dionne and one from Evan Henry.

In the championship match, they defeated the Niagara Wheatfield Wolves, 3-0.

In this contest, Drew Leardini scored the opening goal on a penalty shot drawn by Matty Dionne. Santino Bianco had the second goal with a shot from 25 yards out, and Drew Leardini closed out the scoring late in the second half.

Quinn Walton earned his third shutout of the weekend. Nick Leardini, Joe Leardini, Owen Sweeney, Zach Barber, Erik Parkes and Evan Henry played excellent defensive games, shutting out three of four opponents.

In U-10 play, the NPSL Raptors defeated Spencerport, 2-1; Brockport, 5-0; and Lockport, 4-3.

“Bright future ahead for these talented soccer players!” coach Matt Leardini said.

The U17 Machine includes, bottom row, from left: Rayhaan Shaikh, Zach Barber, Nick Leardini, Evan Henry, Joe Leardini, Anthony Oliver, Santino Bianco, Luciano Latorre, Dylan Ljiljanich and Matty Dionne; and in the top row, from left: coach Chris Leardini, Quinn Walton, Drew Leardini, Luke Leardini, Colin Gniadzowski, Jack Scully, Victor Moreno, Erik Parkes, Owen Sweeney, Carmelo Raimondi, Pete Aversa and coach Rick Sweeney. Not pictured: Athan Lee.

The U-10 boys NPSL Raptors include, from left: coach Justin Birmingham, Ezra Singh, Chase Caza, Gavin Hotchkiss, Brody Weiss, Matthew Scott, Jack Johnson, Rocco Leardini, Eli Birmingham, Colin Stack, Bobby Woods, Drew Tempest, Reese Putzbach, Cole Karbowski and Chris Leardini.

Hometown News

View All News