Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

The Buffalo Sabres
The Buffalo Sabres

Dominik Hasek named to Buffalo Sabres Hall of Fame

by jmaloni


Thu, Mar 6th 2014 02:35 pm

Formal induction to take place March 29

The Buffalo Sabres Hall of Fame selection committee today announced the induction of Dominik Hasek into the Buffalo Sabres Hall of Fame. Hasek, one of the most prolific goaltenders in NHL history, will be officially inducted as the 42nd member of the Sabres Hall of Fame in a ceremony on March 29, prior to the team's home game against the Tampa Bay Lightning at First Niagara Center.

Hasek, who was originally acquired by the Sabres from the Chicago Blackhawks on Aug. 7, 1992, remains one of the most decorated goaltenders in team and league history, appearing in a total of 491 games for the Blue and Gold over a span of nine seasons from 1992-2001. While backstopping the Sabres, he became the first goaltender in NHL history to win the Hart Trophy twice (1997 and 1998), while also capturing six Vezina Trophies (1994, 1995, 1997, 1998, 1999 and 2001) as well as the Wiliam M. Jennings Trophy (1994 and 2001) and the Lester B. Pearson Award twice (1997 and 1998).

During his time in Buffalo, Hasek held numerous franchise records and, upon his departure from the Sabres, owned the records for most all-time games played (491), wins (234), shutouts (55) and lowest career goals-against average (2.22). Hasek appeared in a career-high 72 games for the club in the 1997-98 season, setting a team record with 13 shutouts, only to follow that up with a career-best 1.87 GAA, .937 save percentage and a Stanley Cup Final berth in 1998-99.

After his time with the Sabres, he spent a total of four seasons with the Detroit Red Wings, where he earned a pair of Stanley Cup championships (2002 and 2008) and also suited up for the Ottawa Senators during the 2005-06 season.

When he retired from the NHL in 2008, Hasek finished with 389 career wins, and also ranked inside the top 10 in several statistical categories, including highest career save percentage (.922), most games played by a European-born goaltender (735), most career shutouts (81) and lowest career goals-against average (2.13). In international competition, the Pardubice, Czech Republic, native won a gold medal in the 1998 Winter Olympic Games and a bronze medal in the 2006 games.

The Sabres Hall of Fame committee is comprised of Scott Bowman, Seymour Knox IV, Kevin Gavagan, Jim Lorentz, Michael Gilbert, John Murphy, Bucky Gleason, Wayne Redshaw, Bill Hajt, Jeff Russo, Ed Kilgore, Floyd Smith and Peter Andrews.

Buffalo Sabres Hall of Fame Members

Class of 1980

Frank Christie, Roger Crozier, George "Punch" Imlach

Class of 1982

Tim Horton, Fred T. Hunt

Class of 1986

David Forman, Don Luce, Craig Ramsay

Class of 1989

Richard Martin, Gilbert Perreault, Rene Robert

Class of 1994

Danny Gare

Class of 1995

Jim Schoenfeld, Robert O. Swados

Class of 1996

Ted Darling, Seymour H. Knox III, Northrup R. Knox

Class of 1998

Jack Gatecliff, Larry Playfair

Class of 2000

Don Edwards, Bill Hajt, Wayne Redshaw, Robert "Rip" Simonick

Class of 2001

Jerry Korab, Mike Racicot, Mike Ramsey

Class of 2004

Mike Foligno, Dick Johnston, Pat LaFontaine, Rudy Migay, Robert E. Rich Jr., George Strawbridge

Class of 2007

Phil Housley

Class of 2009

Dave Andreychuk, Milt Ellis

Class of 2010

Joe Crozier, Jim Lorentz

Class of 2011

Alexander Mogilny, Jim Kelley

Class of 2012

Dale Hawerchuk, Rick Jeanneret

Hometown News

View All News