Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Austin Hauser wins the RUSH Late Model Special at Ransomville Speedway. (Photo by Tom Stevens)
Austin Hauser wins the RUSH Late Model Special at Ransomville Speedway. (Photo by Tom Stevens)

'Big R': Rudolph, Hauser, Mason, Leone, Washburn & Gordon score Ransomville finale victories


Tue, Sep 19th 2023 12:20 pm

By Ransomville Speedway 

Third-generation driver Erick Rudolph from Ransomville won the $2,000-to-win special for the Krown Undercoating Modifieds on Friday. Austin Hauser, from Grand Island, won the RUSH Late Model special. Nelson Mason, from Niagara Falls (Ontario), picked up the victory in the Sportsman/Novice Shootout. Chris Leone, of Lewiston, picked up his third win of the season for the Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks. Ken Washburn, of Ransomville, and Doug Gordon, from Fort Erie, Ontario, picked up the victories in the Vintage Car features.

Atwal Eye Care and Brawdy Construction presented the racing action on the final night of the 2023 racing season, the 65th season of racing at Ransomville. 

Ryan Susice and Chad Brachmann were on the front row for the Big Block/Small Block Shootout for the Krown Undercoating Modifieds, with Brachmann taking the lead away from Susice. Erick Rudolph would battle with John Smith for third place early on, with Rudolph taking over the third position on lap six. Rudolph would then go after and pass Ryan Susice on lap 11 to move into second place, as Brachmann continued to show the way. Rudolph would use lap traffic to reel in Brachmann for the lead. The caution would come out as Rick Regalski Jr. slowed in turn four. Rudolph would take over the lead on lap 22, with Gary Lindberg and Ryan Susice battling for third place. Rudolph would hold off Brachmann, Susice, Greg Martin and Noah Walker to score the feature win. 

The Hovis Auto and Truck Supply RUSH Late Models took to the track for the first time since 2021 for a City Chevrolet Weekly Racing Series special, with Dave Stolzenberg Jr. and TJ Downs on the front row for their 25-lap feature event, with Downs in the lead ahead of Stolzenberg, Austin Hauser, Randy Hall and Chad Homan. Hauser would take the lead away from Downs on lap five, with Randy Hall taking over the runner-up position. Derrick McGrew would race his way into third place on lap seven and would go after Randy Hall for second place. Hauser would pull away from the field to pick up the victory. Derrick McGrew would finish in second place, ahead of Jimmy Johnson, Randy Hall and TJ Downs. Johnson was light at the scales, moving Hall to third place and Downs to fourth. Paul Grigsby would complete the top five finishers following post-race tech. 

The Sportsman/Novice Shootout for the Hy-Tech Concrete DIRTcar Sportsman and Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman was led to the green flag by Mike Kramarz and Kyle Richner, with Kramarz in the lead ahead of Richner, Kevin Wills, Nelson Mason and Colby Adamczak racing in the top five. Mason would take over third and would go after Kramarz and Richner for the lead. Following a lap seven caution, Brett Senek would enter the top five and would battle with Wills for fourth place. Richner would take over the lead on lap nine, with Mason taking over second place. Senek would pass Kramarz to move into third place on lap 10. Nelson Mason would take over the lead on lap 13. Kyle Richner spun in turn three on lap 17 to bring out the caution and collected both Dillon and Colby Adamczak. Mason would drive away from Senek and Kramarz to score his fifth feature win of the season.

Chris Leone and Ben Hornquist were on the front row for the Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stock feature event, with Leone in the lead ahead of Ryan Plante, Hornquist, Brian Melcher and Mike Becker. Leone and Plante would battle for the entire feature distance, with Leone edging out Plante to score his third win of the season. 

Ken Washburn and Roy Susice were on the front row for the Vintage Cars event, with Washburn in command of the field all race long. Jeff Lawrence would reel in Washburn, but it was Washburn getting the win in the Sportsman class and overall race winner. Qualifying heat races were won by Jeff Larmet, Roy Susice and Doug Gordon. 

Next on the schedule will be the end-of-the-season banquet, which will take place on Friday, Dec. 1. Details will be released over the coming weeks. 

Ransomville Speedway would like to extend its gratitude to all of the drivers, crews, officials, employees, and marketing partners for their continued support. Special thanks to our divisional sponsors for their support of racing at Ransomville: Krown Undercoating, Hy-Tech Concrete, KiPo Motors, Sunflowers of Sanborn, and Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning.

Hometown News

View All News