Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

`Spartan: Ultimate Team Challenge` `Semifinals Night 2`: Pictured, from left: Amanda Tchir, Sarah Harrison, Mack Roesch, Ian Deyerle and Jonathan Ruiz of team `Strike A Pose.` (NBC photo by Mark Hill; click to enlarge)
"Spartan: Ultimate Team Challenge" "Semifinals Night 2": Pictured, from left: Amanda Tchir, Sarah Harrison, Mack Roesch, Ian Deyerle and Jonathan Ruiz of team "Strike A Pose." (NBC photo by Mark Hill; click to enlarge)

'Spartan: Ultimate Team Challenge' crowns a winner


Mon, Jul 24th 2017 09:10 am
6 teams vied for championship, $250,000 grand prize, including team from UB and Grand Island
The "Spartan: Ultimate Team Challenge" season concluded with a two-hour finale on Sunday, in which six teams faced off in semifinal heats in hopes of competing as one of the top three teams to race against each other on the most demanding Spartan course ever devised.
In the end, team Strike a Pose edged out teams Heart of Texas and Commanding Officers to win the $250,000 grand prize.
The championship heat featured a longer course with 15 obstacles that put the teams through their toughest race yet as they pushed through the pain.
The competing teams were:
Strike a Pose
Ian Deyerle (Monterey, California), Sarah Harrison (Tampa, Florida), Amanda Tchir (Beverly Hills, Florida), Jonathan Ruiz (Riverview, Florida) and Mack Roesch (Oldsmar, Florida)
Deyerle, season one's winning team captain, was out to prove he could come back from adversity to lead a new team made up of fitness models and body builders to the top.
Heart of Texas
Spencer Mahoney (Marblehead, Massachusetts), Allison Brickley (Austin, Texas), Brandon Brickley (Austin, Texas), Joey Kelly (Austin, Texas) and Cheryl Carrell (Round Rock, Texas)
Brought together by tragedy, this family of competitors dug deep and used their unique bond to show they had what it takes to conquer the Spartan course.
After an injury in an earlier heat, the spirit of the team, Joey Kelly, was sidelined and alternate Lawrence Sakorski stepped up to fill in.
Commanding Officers
Robert Killian Jr. (Longmont, Colorado), Ashley Keller (Fort Bragg, North Carolina), Samantha Wood (Colorado Springs, Colorado), Liam Collins (West Point, New York) and Bryce Livingston (Black River, New York)
This accomplished team of elite soldier-athletes was out to prove that, when it comes to teamwork, the U.S. Army couldn't be beat.
Stunt Junkies
Matthew Kempson (Woodstock, Vermont), Jordan Thoma (Costa Mesa, California), Janelle Beaudry (Los Angeles), Mark Miscione (Tarzana, California) and Luci Romberg (Van Nuys, California)
Combining courage, quick thinking and incredible athleticism, this team was made up of some of the best stunt professionals in Hollywood and was a force to be reckoned with all season.
The Ninjas
Michelle Warnky (Columbus, Ohio), Lance Pekus (Salmon, Idaho), Kevin Bull (Scotts Valley, California), Maggi Thorne (Lincoln, Nebraska) and Meagan Martin (Boulder, Colorado)
This team of good friends and "American Ninja Warrior" superstars was out to prove it could take members' successes on the "Ninja" course to Spartan victory.
Kyle "Wooch" Graff (Houston), Ellen Lutnick (Grand Island), Trevor Bernard (Deer Park, New York), Chris Komin (Grand Island) and Zoe Herrick (Rochester)
Led by thong-wearing team captain Graff, the youngest team -- and possibly the one with the highest IQ in the competition -- used its love of problem-solving in hopes of outsmarting more experienced teams on the Spartan course.
"Spartan: Ultimate Team Challenge" is executive produced by the "American Ninja Warrior" team of A. Smith & Co. Productions' founders Arthur Smith and Kent Weed. Brady Connell also serves as executive producer alongside Joe DeSena and Jeffrey Connor from Spartan Race Inc.
The hosts include decorated U.S. Winter Olympian Apolo Ohno and ESPN radio personality Kelvin Washington. NBC and Telemundo sports reporter MJ Acosta and World Series champ Nick Swisher serve as course reporters.

Related Articles

Hometown News

View All News