Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Tom Hanks, Scarlett Johansson, Cuba Gooding Jr., Jesse Eisenberg, Jon Cryer and Martha Plimpton set to present on The 67th Annual Tony Awards

by jmaloni

Press release

Wed, May 29th 2013 12:25 pm

Some of Hollywood's biggest names will be taking center stage at The 67th Annual Tony Awards, live from Radio City Music Hall, Sunday, June 9 (8 p.m.), on the CBS Television Network. Set to present the best of the Broadway season are Tony nominee Tom Hanks and actors Scarlett Johansson, Cuba Gooding, Jr., Jesse Eisenberg, Jon Cryer and Martha Plimpton.

As previously announced, actor Neil Patrick Harris will host the awards show, which honors theater professionals for distinguished achievement on Broadway. More presenters and performers will be announced at a later date.

This year marks the 67th anniversary of the Tony Awards, which were first held on April 6, 1947, at the Waldorf Astoria's Grand Ballroom. The ceremonies are presented by Tony Award Productions, which is a joint venture of The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing, which founded the Tonys.

The June 2011 broadcast of "The 65th Annual Tony Awards" was honored this past year with four Primetime Emmy Awards: Outstanding Special Class Program, Outstanding Art Direction for Variety or Nonfiction Programming, Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics and Outstanding Directing for a Variety Special.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News