Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Bruno Mars, Rihanna and Sting to join together for a special performance on 55th Annual Grammy Awards

by jmaloni
Mon, Feb 4th 2013 01:30 pm

Nominee Kelly Clarkson also to perform on "Music's Biggest Night"

Beyoncé, Hunter Hayes, Jennifer Lopez, Pauley Perrette and Prince are set to present at the music industry's premier event

Nominees Bruno Mars and Rihanna, as well as 16-time Grammy Award winner Sting will join together for a special performance, in addition to a performance by current nominee Kelly Clarkson on The 55th Annual Grammy Awards broadcast. Sixteen-time Grammy winner and current nominee Beyoncé, current nominee Hunter Hayes, singer/actor Jennifer Lopez, actor Pauley Perrette and seven-time Grammy winner Prince will appear as presenters. The music industry's premier event will take place Sunday, Feb. 10 (8 p.m.), at STAPLES Center in Los Angeles and will be broadcast on the CBS Television Network.

Two-time Grammy winner Clarkson has three nominations: Record Of The Year (along with Greg Kurstin, Serban Ghenea, John Hanes, Jesse Shatkin and Chris Gehringer) and Best Pop Solo Performance for "Stronger (What Doesn't Kill You)" and Best Pop Vocal Album for "Stronger."

Grammy winner Bruno Mars is up for Best Rap Song for "Young, Wild & Free" (along with Calvin Broadus, Chris Brody Brown, Philip Lawrence, Ari Levine and Cameron Thomaz).

Previously announced performers for The 55th Annual Grammy Awards include current nominees Dierks Bentley and Miranda Lambert, The Black Keys, FUN., the Lumineers, Mumford & Sons, Frank Ocean, Rihanna, Taylor Swift, Carrie Underwood and Jack White, as well as Elton John and current nominee Ed Sheeran performing live together for the first time, Alicia Keys and current nominees Maroon 5 and Justin Timberlake. The Black Keys, FUN., the Lumineers, Ocean and Sheeran will perform on the Grammy Awards broadcast for the first time. Previously announced presenters are nominees Carly Rae Jepsen and Katy Perry, actor Kaley Cuoco, actor and three-time Emmy Award winner Neil Patrick Harris, five-time Grammy winner Faith Hill, three-time Grammy winner Tim McGraw and four-time Grammy winner Keith Urban. Two-time Grammy winner LL Cool J returns as host of "Music's Biggest Night."

The Recording Academy continues to focus on its mission of recognizing musical excellence, advocating for the well-being of music makers, and ensuring music remains an indelible part of culture.

For more information about The Academy, visit www.grammy.com. For breaking news and exclusive content, follow @TheGRAMMYs on Twitter, like The Grammys on Facebook and join The Grammys social communities on Foursquare, GetGlue, Google +, Instagram, Pinterest, Tumblr and YouTube.

comments powered by Disqus