Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

18th Annual Critics' Choice Movie Awards select 'Argo' as Best Picture

by jmaloni
Sat, Jan 12th 2013 11:00 am

Ben Affleck is Best Director; Daniel Day-Lewis takes home Best Actor; Jessica Chastain wins Best Actress

Winners announced for the first time on The CW

The Broadcast Film Critics Association announced the winners of the 18th annual Critics' Choice Movie Awards on Thursday. Hosted by KTLA anchor Sam Rubin, the ceremony aired live on The CW for the first time, from the Barker Hangar in Santa Monica, with "Argo" taking home the prize for Best Picture, and Ben Affleck winning the award for best director for the film.

Other big winners of the night included: Daniel Day-Lewis winning the Best Actor trophy for his performance in "Lincoln," Jessica Chastain awardedBest Actress for her role in "Zero Dark Thirty," Jennifer Lawrence receiving both Best Actress in a Comedy and Best Actress in an Action Movie, and Quvenzhane Wallis winning as Best Young Actress for her breakout performance in "Beasts of the Southern Wild."

Writer-producer-directorJudd Apatow received the "Critics' Choice Louis XIII Genius Award," presented to him by Rebel Wilson. The award was created to honor "an unprecedented demonstration of excellence in the cinematic arts."

Movie fans also voted for "Twilight" as their favorite film franchise, in the first ever fan-voted award in the history of the Critics' Choice Movie Awards. The other nominees included: "Batman," "Harry Potter," "Indiana Jones," James Bond/007, "Lord of the Rings," "Spider-Man," "Star Trek," "Star Wars" and "Toy Story."

Nominees in attendance included: Amy Adams, Ben Affleck, Christian Bale, Kathryn Bigelow, Jack Black, Emily Blunt, Gina Carano, Jessica Chastain, George Clooney, Bradley Cooper, Marion Cotillard, Daniel Day-Lewis, Robert De Niro, Ann Dowd, Elle Fanning, Sally Field, John Goodman, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Anne Hathaway, John Hawkes, Kara Hayward, Tom Holland, Tom Hooper, Helen Hunt, Hugh Jackman, Tommy Lee Jones, Jennifer Lawrence, Ang Lee, Leslie Mann, Matthew McConaughey, Joaquin Phoenix, David O. Russell, Amanda Seyfried, Suraj Sharma, Steven Spielberg, Omar Sy, Chris Tucker, Quvenzhane Wallis, Naomi Watts, Jacki Weaver and Rebel Wilson.

Presenters at the gala included Nina Dobrev, Ian Somerhalder, Paul Wesley, Jaime King, Henry Cavill, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Famke Janssen, Melissa Leo, Ray Liotta, Eva Longoria, Matthew McConaughey, Cory Monteith, Rob Riggle, Emmy Rossum and Octavia Spencer.

The Critics' Choice Movie Awards are bestowed annually by the BFCA to honor the finest in cinematic achievement. The BFCA is the largest film critics organization in the U.S. and Canada, representing more than 270 television, radio and online critics. BFCA members are the primary source of information for today's filmgoing public. Eligible films were released in 2012.

Since its inception in 1995, the Critics' Choice Movie Awards has been a star-studded bellwether event of the movie awards season. Historically, the Critics' Choice Movie Awards are the most accurate predictor of the Academy Award nominations (28 of 34 of this year's Academy Award nominees for Best Picture, Director, Actor, Actress, Supporting Actor and Supporting Actress were also Critics' Choice Movie Award nominees).

For additional information about the BFCA and its membership, visit its website at www.criticschoice.com.

Winners of the 18th Annual Critics' Choice Movie Awards:

  • Best Picture - Argo
  • Best Actor - Daniel Day-Lewis
  • Best Actress - Jessica Chastain
  • Best Supporting Actor - Philip Seymour Hoffman
  • Best Supporting Actress - Anne Hathaway
  • Best Young Actor/Actress -Quvenzhane Wallis
  • Best Acting Ensemble - Silver Linings Playbook
  • Best Director - Ben Affleck
  • Best Original Screenplay - Quentin Tarantino
  • Best Adapted Screenplay - Tony Kushner
  • Best Cinematography - Claudio Miranda (Life of Pi)
  • Best Art Direction - Sarah Greenwood/Katie Spencer (Anna Karenina)
  • Best Editing - William Goldenberg/Dylan Tichenor (Zero Dark Thirty)
  • Best Costume Design - Jacqueline Durran (Anna Karenina)
  • Best Makeup - Cloud Atlas
  • Best Visual Effects - Life of Pi
  • Best Animated Feature - Wreck-It Ralph
  • Best Action Movie - Skyfall
  • Best Actor in an Action Movie - Daniel Craig
  • Best Actress in an Action Movie - Jennifer Lawrence
  • Best Comedy - Silver Linings Playbook
  • Best Actor in a Comedy - Bradley Cooper
  • Best Actress in a Comedy - Jennifer Lawrence
  • Best Sci-Fi/Horror Movie - Looper
  • Best Foreign Language Film - Amour
  • Best Documentary Feature - Searching for Sugarman
  • Best Song - Skyfall
  • Best Score - John Williams

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News