Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

The CW to broadcast 18th Annual Critics' Choice Movie Awards

by jmaloni
Tue, Oct 23rd 2012 03:35 pm

The CW Television Network will broadcast The 18th Annual Critics' Choice Movie Awards live from Barker Hangar in Santa Monica, Calif., on Thursday, Jan. 10, 2013 (8 until 10 p.m.), it was announced by Joey Berlin, president of the Broadcast Film Critics Association, and Thom Sherman, executive vice president of development for The CW.

"The BFCA is thrilled that our awards show has an exciting new broadcast partner that reaches the same audience that most frequently goes to the movies and will most enjoy our glamorous Hollywood party," Berlin said. "The CW is breaking out this fall and we expect The Critics' Choice Movie Awards to help continue the network's surge. With our big event falling on the very day that Oscar nominations are announced, we know everyone is going to be watching our star-studded celebration of the biggest and best movies of the year."

"As host of the 18th Annual Critics' Choice Movie Awards, The CW gets the opportunity to throw one of the first major events of the Hollywood awards season with all of the biggest A-list stars right here on our network," Sherman said. "We're working very closely with the BFCA to give this telecast a cool, current party vibe that both celebrates the year's best films and fits perfectly with our young adult brand."

Nominees for the 18th Annual Critics' Choice Movie Awards will be announced on Tuesday, Dec. 11.

The awards are bestowed annually by the BFCA to honor the finest in cinematic achievement. The BFCA is the largest film critics' organization in the U.S. and Canada, representing more than 270 television, radio and online critics. BFCA members are the primary source of information for today's film-going public. The very first opinion a moviegoer hears about new releases at the multiplex or the art house usually comes from one of its members.

Since its inception in 1995, the Critics' Choice Movie Awards has been a must-attend bellwether event of the movie awards season. Among the attendees at last year's show were George Clooney, Brad Pitt, Meryl Streep, Leonardo DiCaprio, Charlize Theron, Bob Dylan, Martin Scorsese and Steven Spielberg. Historically, the Critics' Choice Movie Awards are the most accurate predictor of the Academy Award nominations.

Key ballot and submission dates for 18th Annual Critics' Choice Movie Awards below:

  • Dec. 3 - Nominating ballots sent to BFCA members
  • Dec. 9 - Deadline for returning nominating ballots
  • Dec. 11 - Nominees announced
  • Jan. 7, 2013 - Final ballots sent to BFCA members
  • Jan. 8, 2013 - Deadline for returning final ballots
  • Jan. 10, 2013 - Winners revealed during live telecast on The CW.

About The Broadcast Film Critics Association:

For additional information about the BFCA and its membership, visit its website at www.criticschoice.com.


comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News