Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Ransomville Speedway: Willard wins big at Big R

by jmaloni
Fri, Aug 10th 2012 10:00 pm

by Tana Robinson

Ransomville Speedway

Marketing & PR Director

Great weather greeted race fans as week 14 of the 2012 season was completed last Friday night, Aug. 3 at Ransomville Speedway. A total of 85 cars entered the pit area set to battle in the Four Star Program presented by Grelak Mechanical.

BJ Willard invaded the Big R and took home a cool grand for his efforts aboard the 50-lap Grelak Mechanical Sportsman Nationals. Willard took control at the drop of the green and quickly pulled away from the field aboard his No. 77 machine. In only his second appearance of the season, Willard proved he adapts well as he mastered the one-half mile clay oval and captured his first win ever at Ransomville Speedway.

Jesse Cotriss was the first Ransomville regular across the line as he came home in second aboard his No. 55c machine. Cotriss was able to cut into Don Spatorico's points lead by six. The pair came into the night separated by 14 markers. Another invader, Cody McPherson, finished in third followed by Spatorico and Jipp Ortiz. A total of 24 cars started the main event.

Pete Bicknell of St. Catharines, Ontario visited victory lane for the first time in 2012 aboard the Mighty Taco Modified division. Bicknell used a move to the inside of Dave Just on lap 17 of the 30-lap main and quickly established himself as the car to beat. Piloting his No. 42b, "Mr. Smallblock" held onto the top spot through the remainder of the event and collected the big win aboard his Lucas Oil-sponsored machine. As a result Bicknell is now tied with Chad Brachmann for the points lead with just three regular point shows remaining.

Just was able to hold onto second place followed by Robbie Krull. Krull was in the borrowed machine of Mark Golding as his familiar No. 123 suffered mechanical issues the week prior. Rich Vinson and Brachmann rounded out the top five. Just took the lead at the drop of the green and held it through lap 17.

Jake Stefanski of Wheatfield won his third of the season aboard the Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstocks. He only led one lap of the 20-lap main, but it was the most important one as Stefanski used a move to the inside of Mike Short on the final circuit to take the lead and the win.

After starting in the seventh position, Stefanski broke into the top five early on and simply bided his time as he waited for the right moment to make his move. That move came after a caution with one to go set up a last lap dash. Stefanski ducked inside of Short as they entered turn three, making the pass as they exited four. Short would hold onto second followed by Webb Nashwinter, Mike Greenawalt and Derrick Borkenhagen. Short had led laps one thru 19. Point's leader Alex Morris suffered a flat tire at the mid-way point sending him pit side. Morris was able to return without losing a lap and battle back to an eighth place finish.

Dave Sheehan of Ransomville collected the win last Friday night aboard the 12-lap Gippster's Collision 4 Banger main. Sheehan and Jeff York battled side-by-side for the final circuit with York securing the point position as the pair entered turn three. Something went amiss on the York 36 as he slowed in turn four allowing Sheehan a run to the outside.

At the line it was Sheehan in for the win followed by York, Ryan Plante, Todd Edsall and Camille Fuller. It was a tough night for the top two in points as both Mike Hossfeld and Mike Pahl suffered mechanical woes early on ending their night before the halfway point. Sheehan came into the night third in points and certainly capitalized on the misfortune of the top two as he left the track with the points lead (unofficially). Jose Torres led the early going but suffered mechanical issues on lap nine.

Pit Notes

Next week, the 28th Alex Friesen Summer Nationals, Friday, Aug 17, with the $10,000 to win modified 100.

Race Summary

Original Pizza Logs Sportsman Feature Finish

BJ Willard, Jesse Cotriss, Cody McPherson, Don Spatorico, Jipp Ortiz, Adam Hilton, James Henry, Mike Williams, Allan Wills, Chris Burek, Don Barnes, Nate Reynolds, Sandy Pembleton, Billy Coleman, Greg Martin, Andy Smith, Matt Farnham, Jim Zimmerman, Scott Krull, Gordon Hermanson, Steve Miller, Brett Martin, Kevin Wills and Justin Sharp. FindItQuick.com Heat winners - Jesse Cotriss (eight cars), Nate Reynolds (eight cars) and Cody McPherson (eight cars).

Mighty Taco Modifieds Feature Finish

Pete Bicknell, Dave Just, Robbie Krull, Rich Vinson, Chad Brachmann, Scott Just, Phil Vigneri, Ricky Richner, Tommy Flannigan, Scott Kerwin, Todd Burley, Jon Miller, Randy Chrysler, Justin Wright, Steve Schumacher, Jeff McGinnis, Boyd MacTavish, John Smith, Nick Joy, Sam Crogan, Ryan Susice, Brian Sage, Danny Johnson and Erick Rudolph. Heat winners - Chad Brachmann (eight cars), Phil Vigneri (eight cars), and Justin Wright (eight cars).

Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish

Jake Stefanski, Mike Short, Webb Nashwinter, Mike Greenawalt, Derrick Borkenhagen, Kyle Wendt, Gerald Poole, Alex Morris, Neil Pafk, Jesse Johnston, Andrew Neiderhoffer, Charles Harvey, Randy Zimmerman, Ryan Stephenson, Cliff Brucker, Sean Letts, Matt Bedford, Jaren Israel, Cliff Gregg Jr. and Pat Dell. Heat winners - Pat Dell (10 cars) and Mike Greenawalt (10 cars).

Gippster's Collision 4 Bangers

David Sheehan, Jeff York, Ryan Plante, Todd Edsall, Camille Fuller, Mark Nicoletti, Ed Martin, Austin Susice, Matt Foster, Lisa Marie Dussault, Jose Torres, Korey O'Keefe, Rick Blech Jr., Gabriel Attallah, Mike Pahl, Fred Baldwin and Mike Hossfeld. Heat winners - Jeff York (nine cars) and Dave Sheehan (eight cars).

Hometown News

View All News