Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Sabres annual Fan Food Drive begins

by jmaloni


Tue, Nov 17th 2015 06:25 pm

The Buffalo Sabres announced Monday the team will hold a Fan Food Drive at three home games during the month of November to benefit the Food Bank of Western New York.

Sabres fans attending the home games on Nov. 17, 23 and 25 are encouraged to bring nonperishable food items, canned goods or cash donations. Fans who donate will receive a ticket voucher for $20 off 300 Level II tickets for select silver home games.

In addition, anyone who donates will also receive a coupon for 25 fan advantage points, which can be redeemed for prizes from the store in the Sabres Fan Advantage smartphone application.

Items will be collected at all major entrance points to First Niagara Center. All donations will be given to the Food Bank of Western New York.

The vouchers may be redeemed for the following home games:


  • 7 p.m., Wednesday, Nov. 25, vs. Nashville
  • 7 p.m. Friday, Dec. 4, vs. Arizona
  • 6 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 31, vs. NY Islanders
  • 1 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 2, 2016, vs. Detroit
  • 7 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 16, vs. Washington
  • 12:30 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 14, vs. Colorado
  • 1 p.m. Saturday, March 5, vs. Minnesota
  • 1 p.m. Saturday, March 12, vs. Carolina
  • 7 p.m. Wednesday, March 16, vs. Montreal
  • 7 p.m. Friday, March 18, vs. Ottawa
  • 1 p.m. Saturday, March 26, vs. Winnipeg

The Food Bank of WNY is the primary hunger relief organization in the region, obtaining and distributing food to 326 member agencies, including food pantries, shelters, soup kitchens, afterschool programs and senior citizen centers in Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie and Niagara counties. Through these agencies, every month the Food Bank of WNY serves 116,691 individuals, including 41,348 families, nearly 44,000 children and infants, and 13,194 senior citizens.

The Food Bank of WNY is one of 200 members of Feeding America, the nation's food bank network. For more information, visit www.foodbankwny.org.

comments powered by Disqus