Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

NBC to air 70 NHL regular-season games in 2013

by jmaloni

Press release

Mon, Jan 14th 2013 11:50 am

14 regular-season windows on NBC, most ever for network

Wednesday night is rivalry night on NBC Sports Network

NBC Sports Group will air 70 NHL regular-season games across NBC and NBC Sports Network this season. The schedule includes 14 exclusive windows (15 games) on NBC, the most regular-season windows ever for the network, as well as 24 exclusive windows and 26 exclusive games on NBC Sports Network.

Coverage begins the weekend of Jan. 19-20 with the NBC Sports Group presenting four games over two days, three on NBC and one on NBC Sports Network. Additional scheduling highlights include the Los Angeles Kings' Stanley Cup championship banner raising, a "Hockey Day in America" tripleheader, and the start of rivalry nights on Wednesday night on NBC Sports Network. According to the NHL, which released the schedule, all games will be intra-conference with an emphasis on divisional play.

Opening Week

NBC drops the puck on its coverage at 3 p.m. on Saturday, Jan. 19, with "NHL Live," featuring the Stanley Cup champion L.A. Kings' banner raising. Following the ceremony, NBC offers regional coverage of the Kings hosting the Chicago Blackhawks (puck drop at 3:25 p.m.) and the Philadelphia Flyers hosting the Pittsburgh Penguins (3:35 p.m.).

On Sunday, Jan. 20, at 12:30 p.m., NBC returns with the Buffalo Sabres hosting the Flyers. NBC Sports Network begins its season Sunday night by televising the Phoenix Coyotes at the Chicago Blackhawks at 10 p.m. It continues coverage with a game on three consecutive nights from Monday through Wednesday.

Following is the opening week schedule (all times ET):

Date

Away

Home

Time

Network

Sat., Jan. 19

"NHL Live"

Banner Raising

3:00 p.m.

NBC

Sat., Jan. 19

Chicago

Los Angeles

3:25 p.m.

NBC

Sat., Jan. 19

Pittsburgh

Philadelphia

3:35 p.m.

NBC

Sun., Jan. 20

Philadelphia

Buffalo

12:30 p.m.

NBC

Sun., Jan. 20

Chicago

Phoenix

10 p.m.

NBCSN

Mon., Jan. 21

Detroit

Columbus

7:30 p.m.

NBCSN

Tues., Jan. 22

Philadelphia

New Jersey

7:30 p.m.

NBCSN

Wed., Jan. 23

Boston

N.Y. Rangers

7:30 p.m.

NBCSN

Wednesday Night is Rivalry Night

NBC Sports Network's exclusive Wednesday night coverage will now feature some of the biggest rivalries in the NHL, including Bruins-Canadiens and Flyers-Penguins. The network will air exclusive coverage Wednesday nights giving NHL fans four straight nights of hockey action, Sunday-Wednesday, during most weeks. Rivalry nights begin Wednesday, Jan. 23, with the Bruins and Rangers facing off in another Boston-New York contest. Following are NBC Sports Network's 2013 rivalry nights:

Date

Away

Home

Time

Jan. 23

Boston

N.Y. Rangers

7:30 p.m.

Jan. 30

Chicago

Minnesota

8 p.m.

Feb. 6

Boston

Montreal

7:30 p.m.

Feb. 13

St. Louis

Detroit

7:30 p.m.

Feb. 20

Philadelphia

Pittsburgh

7:30 p.m.

Feb. 20

St. Louis

Colorado

10 p.m.

Feb. 27

Washington

Philadelphia

7:30 p.m.

March 6

Colorado

Chicago

8 p.m.

March 13

Philadelphia

New Jersey

7:30 p.m.

March 20

Minnesota

Detroit

7:30 p.m.

March 27

Montreal

Boston

7:30 p.m.

April 3

Pittsburgh

N.Y. Rangers

7:30 p.m.

April 10

Boston

New Jersey

7:30 p.m.

April 17

Buffalo

Boston

7:30 p.m.

April 24

Los Angeles

Detroit

7:30 p.m.

'Hockey Day in America'

In its third year, "Hockey Day in America" will celebrate America's passion for hockey on Sunday, Feb. 17, featuring more than nine hours of coverage, including three games and six teams from some of the most avid U.S. hockey markets across both NBC and NBC Sports Network. In addition, coverage will include compelling features that tell the story of America's passion for hockey.

Coverage begins at noon on NBC with "NHL Live." The first two broadcasts on NBC are Pittsburgh at Buffalo at 12:30 p.m. and Los Angeles at Chicago at 3:30 p.m. The final game of the celebration is between Washington at the New York Rangers at 6 p.m., and airs on NBC Sports Network. (All times ET and subject to change)

Time

Away

Home

Network

Noon

"NHL Live"


NBC

12:30

Pittsburgh

Buffalo

NBC

3:30

Los Angeles

Chicago

NBC

6:00

Washington

N.Y. Rangers

NBC Sports Network

NHL studio programming throughout the 2013 season will originate from the NBC Sports Group's new, state-of-the-art International Broadcast Center located in Stamford, Conn. The first studio programming will air on NBC on Saturday, Jan. 19, prior to the two regional games.

"NHL Live" is NBC Sports Network's live pre- and post-show with highlights and analysis of NHL matchups before and after every game. It traditionally airs a half-hour prior to live-event coverage. "NHL Overtime" airs Monday-Wednesday nights after NHL telecasts. It examines all NHL games played that night with news, highlights, and analysis.

Flex scheduling on NBC

For the sixth consecutive season, the NHL and NBC Sports Group will utilize flex scheduling, which provides the ability to select from up to four games on Sunday afternoons. At least 13 days prior to the scheduled games, the NHL and NBC will announce which game will air. Following are the current games scheduled for NBC:

NBC 2012-13 NHL regular-season schedule (all times ET, subject to change):

Date

Away

Home

Time

Saturday, Jan. 19

Chicago

Los Angeles

3:25 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 19

Pittsburgh

Philadelphia

3:35 p.m.

Sunday, Jan. 20

Philadelphia

Buffalo

12:30 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 3

Pittsburgh

Washington

12:30 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 10

Los Angeles

Detroit

12:30 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 17

Pittsburgh

Buffalo

12:30 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 17

Los Angeles

Chicago

3:30 p.m.

Sunday, March 3

Chicago

Detroit

12:30 p.m.

Sunday, March 10

N.Y. Rangers

Washington

12:30 p.m.

Sunday, March 17

Boston

Pittsburgh

12:30 p.m.

Sunday, March 31

Chicago

Detroit

12:30 p.m.

Sunday, April 7

St. Louis

Detroit

12:30 p.m.

Sunday, April 14

Chicago

St. Louis

12:30 p.m.

Sunday, April 21

New Jersey

N.Y. Rangers

3 p.m.

Saturday, April 27

New Jersey

N.Y. Rangers

3 p.m.

NBC Sports Network 2012-13 NHL regular-season schedule (all times ET, subject to change):

Date

Away

Home

Time

Sunday, Jan. 20

Chicago

Phoenix

10 p.m.

Monday, Jan. 21

Detroit

Columbus

7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 22

Philadelphia

New Jersey

7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Jan. 23

Boston

N.Y. Rangers

7:30 p.m.

Sunday, Jan. 27

Minnesota

St. Louis

8 p.m.

Tuesday, Jan. 29

N.Y. Islanders

Pittsburgh

7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Jan. 30

Chicago

Minnesota

8 p.m.

Monday, Feb. 4

Dallas

Colorado

9 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 5

Tampa Bay

Philadelphia

7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Feb. 6

Boston

Montreal

7:30 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 10

New Jersey

Pittsburgh

7:30 p.m.

Monday, Feb. 11

Los Angeles

St. Louis

9 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 12

N.Y. Rangers

Boston

7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Feb. 13

St. Louis

Detroit

7:30 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 17

Washington

N.Y. Rangers

6 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 19

San Jose

St. Louis

8 p.m.

Wednesday, Feb. 20

Philadelphia

Pittsburgh

7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Feb. 20

St. Louis

Colorado

10 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 24

Tampa Bay

Pittsburgh

7:30 p.m.

Monday, Feb. 25

Dallas

Nashville

8 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 26

Boston

N.Y. Islanders

7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Feb. 27

Washington

Philadelphia

7:30 p.m.

Sunday, March 3

Montreal

Boston

7:30 p.m.

Monday, March 4

Tampa Bay

Pittsburgh

7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, March 5

Philadelphia

N.Y. Rangers

7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, March 6

Colorado

Chicago

8 p.m.

Sunday, March 10

Buffalo

Philadelphia

7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, March 12

Philadelphia

Boston

7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, March 13

Philadelphia

New Jersey

7:30 p.m.

Sunday, March 17

Buffalo

Washington

7:30 p.m.

Monday, March 18

Philadelphia

Tampa Bay

7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, March 19

Washington

Pittsburgh

7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, March 20

Minnesota

Detroit

7:30 p.m.

Sunday, March 24

Washington

N.Y. Rangers

7:30 p.m.

Monday, March 25

Los Angeles

Chicago

8 p.m.

Tuesday, March 26

Philadelphia

N.Y. Rangers

7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, March 27

Montreal

Boston

7:30 p.m.

Sunday, March 31

Washington

Philadelphia

7:30 p.m.

Monday, April 1

Colorado

Detroit

7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, April 2

Buffalo

Pittsburgh

7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, April 3

Pittsburgh

N.Y. Rangers

7:30 p.m.

Sunday, April 7

New Jersey

Buffalo

7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, April 9

Chicago

Minnesota

8 p.m.

Wednesday, April 10

Boston

New Jersey

7:30 p.m.

Thursday, April 11

Pittsburgh

Tampa Bay

7:30 p.m.

Sunday, April 14

Detroit

Nashville

7:30 p.m.

Monday, April 15

Dallas

Chicago

8 p.m.

Tuesday, April 16

NY Rangers

Philadelphia

7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, April 17

Buffalo

Boston

7:30 p.m.

Thursday, April 18

New Jersey

Philadelphia

7:30 p.m.

Sunday, April 21

St. Louis

Colorado

7:30 p.m.

Monday, April 22

Montreal

Pittsburgh

7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, April 23

Boston

Philadelphia

7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, April 24

Los Angeles

Detroit

7:30 p.m.

Thursday, April 25

Pittsburgh

New Jersey

7:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 27

TBD

TBD

7:30 p.m.

Saturday, April 27

TBD

TBD

10 p.m.

 

Related Articles

Advertise With Us

Subscribe Today

 





Powered by Fission Content Management System | Niagara Falls Web Design by 360PSG