Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

GI Fire Company installs 2016 officers

Sat, Jan 16th 2016 11:00 am

Newly elected Town Supervisor Nathan McMurray administered the oaths of office to 2016 Grand Island Fire Co. officers Saturday, Jan. 9, at fire headquarters, 2275 Baseline Road. Both firematic and administrative offices were sworn to uphold their upcoming community protection duties.

McMurray was joined by Erie County Legislator Kevin Hardwick, New York State Assemblyman John Ceretto, town officials, special guests including local fire officials, and family members in praising the outstanding commitment of these volunteers.


The 2016 Grand Island Fire Company board of directors, from left: Saed Shafie, Jeremy Pullano, Kevin Koch, Chairman Gregory Butcher, Peter Coppola, Dave Khreis and Peter Sukmanowski.

Board chairman Greg Butcher made special note of the fire company's remarkable evolution from a one-room shanty to an unsurpassed state-of-the-art operation that assures maximum protection for the community. McMurray also stressed that he is looking forward to working with the fire company for the betterment of each and every citizen.

Matt Osinski begins his third term as fire chief and will be joined by Deputy Chief Chris Soluri, First Assistant Chief Mark Sadkowski, Second Assistant Chief Omar Sortino, fire captains Dan Mathes, Jon Cinelli and Tim Krecisz; Day Capt. Kevin Koch, Fire Police Capt. Don Portik; and EMS captains Don Turner and Scott McCormick.

President John Podlucky will be assisted by Vice President Scott Shaw, Recording Secretary Ambria Tim, Line Secretary Mike Anderson, Financial Secretary Nicole Gerber, Treasurer Tony Mastantuono, and Sergeant at Arms Dave Khreis.

Koch and Pete Sukmanowski were returned to the board of directors and Khreis was new elected to his first term.


The 2016 Administrative Officers: Sergeant at Arms Dave Khreis and President John Podlucky. Not pictured: Vice-President Scott Shaw, Treasurer Tony Mastantuono, Financial Secretary Nicole Gerber, Secretary Ambria Tim, and Line Secretary Michael Anderson. All had prior commitments and were unable to attend the installation ceremony.

Bill Wilson and Dave Cole were returned as Benevolent Association trustees.

Nicole Butcher, president of the ladies auxiliary, introduced her officers: Vice President Heidi Sue McCormick, Secretary Jacqueline Daily, Recording Secretary Arlene Soluri, Treasurer Nancy Amato, Sergeant at Arms Barb Wilson, Chaplain Mary Becker, trustees Haneen Shafie, Darcy Golde and Julie Meyer.

"Top 10" responders were again led by Ray Pauley with 856 calls. Others in sequential order are Nick Egloff, Krecisz, JoAnne Ciffa, Cinelli, Osinski, Sortino, Pete Coppola, Mathes and McCormick.

Pauley was also pleasantly surprised by receiving a special Chiefs Award for 52 years of active service in firematic, administrative and public information officer duties.

Deputy Chief Soluri also received special recognition for his life-saving actions on Oct. 19, 2015, when he freed a trapped traumatic injury victim who was treated, hospitalized and is now fully recovered.

Jourdain Benoit and Egloff were also commended for their extraordinary commitment to fire prevention and public relations programs throughout 2015.

Mastantuono received a Presidents Award for his significant administrative contributions.

Six members who completed rigorous rookie training during 2015 are: Ciffa, Tony Caruana, Pat Hahn, Mike Madigan, Corey Rozell, and Ron Warner. Ciffa was also singled out as Rookie of the Year for her exceptional overall performance.


2016 Firematic officers: Kevin Koch, Tim Krecixz, Scott McCormick, Omar Sortino, Don Portik, Matt Osinski, Dan Mathes, Mark Sadkowski and Jon Cinelli. Not pictured: Chris Soluri and Don Turner. (Photo by Ray Pauley)

Hometown News

View All News