Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Holly Hunter (Photo credit: Ricky Middlesworth/Disney/Pixar // courtesy of Paramount+)
Holly Hunter (Photo credit: Ricky Middlesworth/Disney/Pixar // courtesy of Paramount+)

Academy Award-winner Holly Hunter to star in Paramount+ original series 'Star Trek: Starfleet Academy'

Tue, May 21st 2024 01:25 pm

All-new original series from CBS Studios will follow adventures of new class of Starfleet cadets

Paramount+ Press Release

Paramount+ today announced Academy Award-winner Holly Hunter will star in the upcoming original series “Star Trek: Starfleet Academy” as the captain and chancellor of Starfleet Academy. The series will follow the adventures of a new class of Starfleet cadets as they come of age in one of the most legendary places in the galaxy. Produced by CBS Studios, the series will begin production later this summer.

"It feels like we’ve spent our entire lives watching Holly Hunter be a stone-cold genius,” said co-showrunners Alex Kurtzman and Noga Landau. “To have her extraordinary authenticity, fearlessness, sense of humor, and across-the-board brilliance leading the charge on ‘Star Trek: Starfleet Academy’ is a gift to all of us, and to the enduring legacy of ‘Star Trek.’ "

“Star Trek: Starfleet Academy” introduces viewers to a young group of cadets who come together to pursue a common dream of hope and optimism. Under the watchful and demanding eyes of their instructors, they discover what it takes to become Starfleet officers as they navigate blossoming friendships, explosive rivalries, first loves and a new enemy that threatens both the Academy and the Federation itself.

Kurtzman and Landau serve as co-showrunners and executive produce the series alongside executive producers Gaia Violo, Aaron Baiers, Olatunde Onsunsamni, Jenny Lumet, Rod Roddenberry, Trevor Roth, Frank Siracusa and John Weber. The series premiere episode is written by Violo. “Star Trek: Starfleet Academy” is produced by CBS Studios in association with Secret Hideout and Roddenberry Entertainment. The series is distributed by Paramount Global Content Distribution.

Hunter won the Academy Award for Best Actress for her performance in “The Piano,” directed by Jane Campion. She received three additional Oscar nominations for her performances in James L. Brooks’ “Broadcast News,” Sydney Pollack’s “The Firm” and Catherine Hardwicke’s “Thirteen.”

Among Hunter’s other notable film credits are The Coen Brothers’ “Raising Arizona” and “O Brother, Where Art Thou?” plus David Cronenberg’s “Crash,” Steven Spielberg’s “Always,” Danny Boyle’s “A Life Less Ordinary,” Jodie Foster’s “Home for the Holidays,” Jon Amiel’s “Copycat,” Lasse Halstrom’s “Once Around” and Zach Snyder’s “Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice,” among many others.

Hunter voiced the role of Elastigirl for Brad Bird’s blockbuster animated Pixar film “The Incredibles” and its smash sequel “The Incredibles 2.” She also received SAG Award and Independent Spirit Award nominations for her critically acclaimed performance in the Judd Apatow-produced comedy hit “The Big Sick,” directed by Michael Showalter.

Her TV credits include Jane Campion's “Top of the Lake,” Emmy Awards for Best Actress for her roles in “The Positively True Adventures of the Alleged Texas Cheerleader-Murdering Mom” and “Roe vs. Wade,” and Emmy nominations for her starring role on the series “Saving Grace.” She also had a guest starring role in the critically acclaimed series “Succession.”

“Star Trek: Starfleet Academy” is the latest addition to the expanding “Star Trek” franchise on Paramount+, which also includes the fifth and final season of “Star Trek: Discovery,” “Star Trek: Strange New Worlds,” the animated series “Star Trek: Lower Decks,” and “Star Trek: Section 31,” an original movie event with Oscar-winner Michelle Yeoh.

Hometown News

View All News