Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

SBA announces Buffalo Small Business Week award winners


Mon, Apr 1st 2024 09:35 am

Western New York entrepreneurs honored for ‘building on America’s small business boom’

Submitted by the U.S. Small Business Administration Buffalo District

Victoria Reynolds, district director of the U.S. Small Business Administration’s Buffalo district office, announced today the names of five SBA Small Business Week award winners from the 14 westernmost counties of New York.

“Our 2024 National Small Business Week award winners exemplify excellence, innovation and commitment, and the SBA is proud to showcase their incredible achievements and impact on their communities and our economy,” SBA Administrator Isabella Guzman said. “Under the Biden-Harris administration, more Americans than ever before are pursuing the American dream of business ownership and are able to access more opportunities, with historic investments in communities across America.”

During National Small Business Week, the SBA will hold its free virtual summit from April 30-May 1, for aspiring entrepreneurs and small business owners. This year’s summit will feature access to critical federal resources, educational workshops, and networking opportunities to help our nation’s entrepreneurs start, grow and build resilient businesses.

“National Small Business Week is the nation’s opportunity to lift up the amazing entrepreneurs, small business advocates, local partners, advisers, lenders and investors who support America’s entrepreneurial spirit and the historic Biden-Harris small business boom,” said SBA Atlantic Regional Administrator Marlene Cintron, who oversees the federal agency’s operations throughout New York, New Jersey, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

The following is a list of SBA’s 2024 Buffalo District Office Small Business Week award winners.

•Buffalo District Small Business Person of the Year: Jim Terhune / T & T Materials Inc.

•Small Business Young Entrepreneur of the Year: Orest Ravlyk / Lexington Diesel Inc.

•Veteran Owned Small Business Person of the Year: Darren Davis / R.D.C Shoe Company LLC

•Women Owned Small Business Person of the Year: Marina Goody / Goody Girl Flower Farm

•Small Business Financial Services Champion of the Year: Nakiea Cook / NC Accounting & Consulting Solutions

Local winners will receive their awards during a Small Business Week awards ceremony and Reception on May 8 at the Buffalo History Museum.

“I can’t think of a better place to honor this year’s cohort of SBA Buffalo awardees, especially near the launch of the museum’s new Pan American Exposition exhibit,” Reynolds said. “Entrepreneurship and innovation are woven into the Buffalo district’s DNA, and our small businesses continue to play a vital role in driving economic prosperity across the nation.”

Hometown News

View All News