Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Niagara Falls Memorial Medical Center appoints new board members at annual meeting


Tue, Mar 26th 2024 03:00 pm

At its annual meeting on Monday, the Niagara Falls Memorial Medical Center board of directors appointed Carmen A. Granto and Peter Muscarella II, M.D., as its newest board member. NFMMC confirmed its 2024 slate of officers and reelected seven incumbent board members.

Granto is a retired Niagara Falls School District superintendent, where he served from 1992 until 2008. A resident of Niagara Falls, Granto has contributed to several local boards and community organizations, including SUNY Niagara (formerly Niagara County Community College), Mount St. Mary's Hospital and Health Center, Stella Niagara, the Niagara County Industrial Development Agency, and the Niagara Frontier Transportation Authority.

Muscarella has been a member of NFMMC’s surgical team since 2021 and is currently the chief of surgery. Prior to joining NFMMC, Muscarella participated in a two-year pancreatic cancer research fellowship during his residency training at Ohio State University, where he subsequently served as an associate professor of surgery. Following his time at Ohio State University, Muscarella joined Montefiore Medical Center as a professor of surgery, where he served as the director of pancreatic surgery and the general surgery site director for the Einstein campus.

Reappointed officers include Chairman James C. Roscetti, attorney with Roscetti & DeCastro, P.C.; Vice Chairman Cynthia A. Bianco, retired superintendent of Niagara Falls schools; Treasurer Charles G. Rader, Ph.D., retired CEO of IsleChem LLC; and Secretary Margaret M. Toohey, retired account executive at Lewiston Insurance Agency.

Reelected to three-year terms were Roscetti; Toohey; Tina Abrams, councilor at Seneca Nation of Indians; Rajinder Bajwa, M.D., chief of infectious disease at NFMMC; Matthew Feldman, attorney at Feldman Kiefer LLP; Gerald Gorman, M.D, chief of emergency medicine AND president of the NFMMC medical staff; and Marion B. LaVigne, president and CEO of Launch New York Inc.

Continuing on the board will be Robert L. Bradley Jr., retired school administrator; Ronald R. Campbell, retired CEO at Washington Mills; John (Jack) Greco, managing director at Far Out Ventures; Don J. King, retired chairman of the Polly King Art Group; Judith Nolan Powell, retired HSBC Bank executive; Mark D. Perry, M.D., retired chief of radiology at NFMMC; the Rev. Craig D. Pridgen, senior pastor at True Bethel Baptist Church; Joseph A. Ruffolo, NFMMC president and CEO; and Vijay Bojedla, M.D., vice president and chief medical officer at NFMMC.

Hometown News

View All News