Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

'Big R': Empire Super Sprints return to Ransomville this Friday night


Tue, Jun 6th 2023 07:00 am

Submitted by Ransomville Speedway

The Empire Super Sprints will make their annual pilgrimage to Ransomville this coming Friday night, June 9, for the Ron Lux Memorial. A-Verdi Storage Containers, Hebeler Sales & Service, and Nuttall Gear will present the racing action. The Hy-Tech Concrete DIRTcar Sportsman, Kevin’s Carpet Cleaning Novice Sportsman, and the Sunflowers of Sanborn Mini Stocks will also be in action. 

Pit gates will open at 5 p.m., with grandstands opening at 6 p.m., and racing getting underway at 7:15 p.m. Grandstand admission is $20 for adults, $18 for seniors (60-plus) and youth aged 12-17. Kids 11 and under are admitted free. Pit admission is $35 for members, and $40 for non-members. 

A legend in Western New York auto racing, Ron Lux was able to win on both the dirt and asphalt. In 1965, Lux won the Oswego Speedway Supermodified points title, including winning five straight features and a total of 12 during that season. Back in the day, Lux also raced under the pseudonym of Bucky Buckholtz and Bob Hodgson as he was trying to avoid suspension from USAC, which during that time frame did not permit their drivers to race in non-USAC events. In 1965, following his fourth straight feature win at Oswego, Lux revealed his identity.

Ron won the Orange County Eastern States 100 dirt Modified race in 1965, beating the finest competition that division had to offer. He also set fast time for the first asphalt Langhorne National Open modified (Race of Champions) event in 1965. He died in a USAC sprinter at Tulsa, Oklahoma, in July of 1966.

Former Ransomville Sportsman track champion Matt Farnham from Tonawanda is the defending race winner, when the Empire Super Sprints were at the “Big R” last season. “The Cobra” Chuck Hebing won the ESS stop in 2021. The Ron Lux Memorial will be the 18th all-time appearance by the ESS at Ransomville. Previous winners include Steve Dow, Lance Yonge, Craig Keel, Phil Mott, Tom Taber, John Birosh, George Suprick III, Mike VanDusen and Gordy Button. 

Jordan Poirier, from St. Mathieu-de-Beloeil, Quebec, will lead the charge into Ransomville with the Empire Super Sprints. Poirier is coming off a win in the ESS’s last race at Orange County Fair Speedway last weekend. Look for tour stars Dylan Swiernik, Shawn Donath, Jordan Thomas, Davie Franek and more to be in attendance. Multi-time Ransomville winner Chuck Hebing, along with daughter Kelly, are also expected to be in attendance. 

Hometown News

View All News