Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Image by Ae Hee Lee // provided by Just Buffalo Literary Center
Image by Ae Hee Lee // provided by Just Buffalo Literary Center

Just Buffalo announces winner of the 2023 poetry fellowship


Tue, May 30th 2023 11:35 am

Ae Hee Lee selected as the 2023 poetry fellow, judged by Roger Reeves

Just Buffalo Literary Center announced Ae Hee Lee as the 2023 poetry fellow. The award, which is open to adult poets of all ages and career stages, includes a $1,500 honorarium; a month-long residency in Buffalo this August, and the opportunity to perform as a featured reader at Just Buffalo’s Silo City Reading Series.

Born in South Korea and raised in Peru, Ae Hee Lee’s debut poetry collection, “ASTERISM,” was selected by John Murillo for the 2022 Dorset Prize and is forthcoming from Tupelo Press. She is the author of poetry chapbooks: “Bedtime || Riverbed” (Compound Press 2017), “Dear bear” (Platypus Press 2021) and “Connotary” (Frost Place Chapbook Competition winner – Bull City Press 2021).

“I find myself wanting to stay in the poems of Ae Hee Lee,” final judge Roger Reeves wrote. “These are poems built of precision, of fragments, of carefulness, of control, poems built with a deep relationship and suspicion of poetic form. As Lee notes in ‘Self-Portrait as Sister,’ she makes whole worlds in the mouth of the poem. The world, then, is one built of sound, of home being made with ‘a supple tongue.’ These are magnificent, broad-ranging, and exquisite poems.”

Ae Hee is a recipient of a James Olney Award by The Southern Review, Adroit Journal Gregory Djanikian Scholar in Poetry, and Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Fellowship Finalist. She has also received scholarships and awards from the Academy of American Poets, AWP, Bread Loaf, the Palm Beach Poetry Festival, and Gasher Journal, among others.

The JBLC Poetry Fellowship was established in 2020 as a way of raising the visibility of both the selected poetry fellow and the City of Buffalo as a home and destination for innovative literary arts in the U.S. Now in its fourth year, the fellowship has previously honored Keith S. Wilson in 2020, Porsha Olayiwola in 2021 and Ashia Ajani in 2022.

More About Just Buffalo Literary Center

Just Buffalo Literary Center’s mission is to create and strengthen communities through the literary arts. For over 45 years, the organization has brought groundbreaking writers to Buffalo, hosted poetry events and readings, and supported the development of young writers. For more information, visit justbuffalo.org.

Hometown News

View All News