Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Fireflight (Image courtesy of Turning Point PR)
Fireflight (Image courtesy of Turning Point PR)

Fireflight comes full-circle with 'Who We Are: The Head and The Heart'


Fri, Oct 2nd 2020 05:25 pm

Grammy-nominated band delivers RockFest Records debut Oct. 23

“Who We Are: The Head and The Heart,” the two-volume set and first new recording in more than five years from Grammy-nominated, Gold-selling rockers Fireflight, will release Oct. 23. The group’s RockFest Records debut comes full-circle, showcasing Fireflight’s return to their pure rock roots – a sound that helped cement the band’s reign as genre leaders for more than a decade – as well as reuniting the original lineup of Dawn Michele (vocals), Wendy Drennen (bass), Glenn Drennen (guitars) and Justin Cox (guitars). 

The album was co-written by Michele, Glenn Drennen and Cox, along with Disciple’s Josiah Prince, its 10 tracks evenly divided between Vol. 1, “The Head,” and Vol. 2, “The Heart.” A press release said, “Produced by Prince, the collection explores action and impact, reminding believers that, as children of God, our response to the world around us carries eternal weight. The project’s title-cut and lead single – a full-throttle call to arms further galvanizing the album’s timely theme – is now available.”

“The song invites us out of helplessness and into our true identity,” Michele said of “Who We Are.” “As God’s children, it’s our opportunity to step up and show what his love is made of. It’s here for us the day after the disaster. It’s here for us when we have nothing left to give. Now we just have God’s love to give, because we’ve run out of everything we could do in our own power.”

Plumbing the depths of vulnerability from beginning to end, additional highlights of “Who We Are: The Head and The Heart” include the hard-driving “Welcome To The Show,” an invitation to surrender to Truth; “Keep Your Head Up,” a rock ballad offering encouragement to press on through trials; and the raw emotion of “Bury The Dead,” a song examining both the struggle and necessity of forgiveness.

“There’s nothing we’ve taken for granted during writing and recording Who We Are,” Glenn Drennen says. “When you’re doing it just for the pure passion, it’s a really refreshing place to be. It takes you back to the very beginning, when you first started out as a band and just had a passion for playing music and impacting peoples’ lives.”

“We’re extremely excited to welcome Fireflight to the RockFest family,” label founder and President Joseph Rojas said. “What makes this release even more special to me is that Seventh Day Slumber brought Fireflight out on their very first tour. We’ve been through good times and bad times together, so it’s humbling for RockFest to be the label Fireflight chose for their return to recording. I’ve listened to this new project over and over again, and I seriously can’t wait for Fireflight fans and Christian rock fans to hear it.”

With a Grammy Award nomination to their credit; 34 million views on VEVO; nine No. 1 Christian rock hits; seven Dove Award nominations; and a Gold-certified single, Fireflight has built a fiercely devoted following, transcending both Christian and mainstream rock. Bursting onto the scene with their 2006 Flicker Records debut, “The Healing Of Harms,” the band's Flicker discography also includes “Unbreakable” (2008) and “For Those Who Wait” (2010). The group's Essential Records debut, “Now,” was the top-selling Christian rock album of 2012, while Fireflight’s independently released “INNOVA” (2015) yielded two No. 1 singles, joining such career-defining hits as “Waiting,” “The Hunger,” “Unbreakable” and “Stay Close,” among others. They have performed at the Winter X Games and their music was featured in Taco Bell’s “Feed the Beat” campaign.

RockFest Records, an imprint of Nashville Label Group, is helmed by Rojas, Seventh Day Slumber founder and frontman and creator of the City RockFest and Summer RockFest Tours. In addition to Fireflight, RockFest Records is home to Billboard hitmakers Seventh Day Slumber, Random Hero, The Protest and Zahna, as well as The Persuaded, Relent and The Letter Black. RockFest Records is distributed by New Day Christian Distributors, with digital distribution by Capitol Christian Music Group.

For further information, visit:

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News

View All News