Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

The CW gives early orders to 13 current series for next season


Tue, Jan 7th 2020 06:35 pm

The CW Network on Tuesday renewed 13 of its current scripted series for the 2020-21 season, as well as ordering 13 additional scripts of “Katy Keene,” which will make its debut on Feb. 6. Announcements were made by President Mark Pedowitz. 

“These early orders for next season give our production teams a head start in plotting out story arcs and a jump on hiring staff, and this also provides us with a strong foundation of established, fan-favorite CW shows to build on for next season,” he said. “We’ve been thrilled with the creative direction of all three new series and, even though we are in the very early stages of our new full stack streaming strategy – which allows viewers to catch up on our new shows from the beginning – we’re already seeing incredibly positive results from our multiplatform viewership for ‘Nancy Drew’ and ‘Batwoman.’ ”

The current series being ordered for the 2020-21 season include second seasons of “Batwoman” and “Nancy Drew,” as well as “All American” (season 3), “Black Lightning” (season 4), “Charmed” (season 3), “DC’s Legends of Tomorrow” (season 6), “Dynasty” (season 4), “The Flash” (season 7), “In The Dark” (season 3), “Legacies” (season 3), “Riverdale” (season 5), “Roswell, New Mexico” (season 3) and “Supergirl” (season 6). Specific premiere dates for each series will be announced at a later time.

Additionally, in advance of its series premiere next month, The CW has ordered 13 additional scripts of “Katy Keene,” which is based on the Archie Comics characters and stars Lucy Hale, Ashleigh Murray, Jonny Beauchamp and Julia Chen.

Hometown News

View All News