Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

'The Irishman' leads film nominations for 25th Annual Critics' Choice Awards


Mon, Dec 9th 2019 04:55 pm

‘When They See Us’ leads television race with 6 nods, ‘This Is Us’ & ‘Schitt’s Creek’ close behind

Netflix garners 61 total nominations, HBO earns 33

The Critics Choice Association announced the nominees for the 25th Annual Critics’ Choice Awards. The winners will be revealed at the star-studded Critics’ Choice Awards gala, which will once again be hosted by film, television and stage star Taye Diggs, and broadcast live on The CW Television Network on Sunday, Jan. 12 (7 p.m. ET).

“The Irishman” leads all films this year with 14 nominations, including Best Picture, Robert De Niro for Best Actor, Al Pacino and Joe Pesci for Best Supporting Actor, Martin Scorsese for Best Director, Best Acting Ensemble, Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Cinematography, Best Production Design, Best Editing, Best Costume Design, Best Hair and Makeup, Best Visual Effects, and Best Score.

“Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood” impressed with 12 nominations, followed by “Little Women” with nine, “1917” and “Marriage Story” with eight, and “Jojo Rabbit,” “Joker,” and “Parasite” with seven each.

Several actors received multiple nominations across both the film and television fields. Laura Dern could take home two trophies for her work in “Big Little Lies” and “Marriage Story,” while Scarlett Johansson received nominations for her roles in both “Jojo Rabbit” and “Marriage Story.” Newcomer Asante Blackk also received two nominations for his roles in “This Is Us” and “When They See Us.”

Many of this year’s director nominees pulled double duty, and are nominated for their screenplays as well, including Noah Baumbach for “Marriage Story,” Greta Gerwig for “Little Women,” Bong Joon Ho for “Parasite,” and Quentin Tarantino for “Once Upon a Time… in Hollywood.”

Netflix has earned 61 nominations across its series and films. HBO received 33 nominations, followed by Amazon with 14, and NBC with 12. Topping the list of nominated series is “When They See Us” (Netflix) with six, followed by “This Is Us” (NBC) and “Schitt’s Creek” (Pop) with five each. Several programs received a total of four nominations, including “Barry” (HBO), “Chernobyl” (HBO), “Fleabag” (Amazon), “Fosse/Verdon” (FX), “Game of Thrones” (HBO), “The Crown” (Netflix), “The Good Fight” (CBS All Access), “Unbelievable” (Netflix), and “Watchmen” (HBO).

“This has been a truly great year for television and movies,” CCA CEO Joey Berlin said. “In every genre, from every viewpoint and distribution platform, brilliant storytellers are challenging and delighting us. We are so excited to have the opportunity to celebrate them, and their work, on Jan. 12 on The CW!” 

Critics’ Choice Awards are bestowed annually to honor the finest in cinematic and television achievement. Historically, the Critics’ Choice Awards are the most accurate predictor of the Academy Award nominations.

The Association of National Advertisers and The CW Network will continue their partnership with the presentation of the fourth annual #SeeHer Award. This award recognizes a woman who embodies the values set forth by the #SeeHer movement – to push boundaries on changing stereotypes and recognize the importance of accurately portraying women across the entertainment landscape. The award will bear significant importance as 2020 marks the 100-year anniversary of the passing of the 19th Amendment, which gave women the right to vote. Past recipients of the #SeeHer award include Claire Foy, Gal Gadot and Viola Davis. The 2020 honoree will be announced soon.

Follow the 25th annual Critics’ Choice Awards on Twitter and Instagram @CriticsChoice and on Facebook/CriticsChoiceAwards.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News

View All News