Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Above and Beyond: Sadkowski chosen 2020 chief of Grand Island Fire Co.

Sat, Dec 7th 2019 07:00 am

Ray Pauley

Grand Island Fire Co. Public Information Officer

Grand Island firefighters chose 2020 firematic and administrative officers during annual elections held on Wednesday, Dec. 4, at fire headquarters.

Mark Sadkowski advanced to the position of fire chief and will be joined by Deputy Chief Omar Sortino, First Assistant Chief Dan Mathes, Second Assistant Chief John Podlucky; fire captains Pat Hahn, Jourdain Benoit, and Don Turner. Don Portik returns as fire police captain and Rob Meyer is the EMS captain.

Joanne Ciffa returns as president, with Sean O’Donnell as Vice President. Tony Mastantuono remains treasurer and Nicole Gerber as financial secretary. Graciana Giambra continues as recording secretary and Ellen Hayes becomes the new line secretary. The sergeant-at-arms position was filled by Tom Shanor.

Greg Butcher was returned to the Board of Directors and Matt Osinski was newly elected to a similar three-year term.

Ron Warner filled a position on the Review Board and Skip Mrkall along with Mike DeMartin became Benevolent Association trustees.

Several delegate positions were also filled.

Hometown News

View All News