Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

XFL season will kick off Feb. 8 on ABC


Tue, Oct 22nd 2019 02:00 pm

Begins with clash between Seattle Dragons & DC Defenders

ABC, ESPN will combine to televise 22 XFL Games in 2020, including championship on April 26

ABC and ESPN will combine to televise 22 games during the 2020 XFL season, beginning with the league’s much-anticipated kickoff game on Saturday, Feb. 8 (2 p.m. EST), and concluding with the inaugural XFL Championship on April 26.

All ABC and ESPN games will be streamed live on the ESPN app.

The new era of XFL football will begin Feb. 8 with the DC Defenders, led by former Ohio State Buckeyes quarterback Cardale Jones, hosting the Seattle Dragons on ABC. A day later, Sunday, Feb. 9, the Dallas Renegades, featuring former Oklahoma Sooners duo of quarterback Landry Jones and coach Bob Stoops, play the St. Louis BattleHawks on ESPN (5 p.m. EST).

Additional highlights during the 10-week regular season schedule include home openers for the Los Angeles Wildcats (Feb. 16 on ABC), Tampa Bay Vipers (Feb. 22 on ABC), and St. Louis BattleHawks (Feb. 23 on ESPN). ABC also will feature the only matchup between the country’s two biggest markets – LA Wildcats vs. New York Guardians – on Feb. 29 at MetLife Stadium.

ABC will televise 14 games, with most telecasts starting at 2 p.m. EST on Saturdays. ESPN and ESPN2 will combine to carry eight games, all on Sundays, including the West Final (April 19) and XFL Championship (April 26). Both postseason games will kick off at 3 p.m.

The eight-team XFL is divided into two four-team divisions, East and West. The XFL East features the DC Defenders, New York Guardians, St. Louis BattleHawks and Tampa Bay Vipers. The Dallas Renegades, Houston Roughnecks, Los Angeles Wildcats and Seattle Dragons comprise the XFL West.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News

View All News