Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

The Academy, ABC announce future Oscars dates; board appointments


Tue, Jun 11th 2019 01:50 pm

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and ABC on Tuesday announced the 2022 Oscars show date and confirmed the 2021 date. Upcoming Oscars show dates are as follows:

  • 92nd Oscars, Sunday, Feb. 9, 2020
  • 93rd Oscars, Sunday, Feb. 28, 2021
  • 94th Oscars, Sunday, Feb. 27, 2022

Timing of the 2022 Olympics, the Super Bowl and national holidays will keep the 2021 and 2022 dates on the last Sunday in February. The Academy and ABC continue to evaluate dates for future years.

The Oscars ceremony is broadcast live at 8 p.m. EST on the ABC Television Network and globally in more than 225 countries and territories worldwide.

Academy key dates for the 2019-20 awards season are:

  • Governors Awards, Sunday, Oct. 27, 2019
  • Preliminary Voting Begins, Friday, Dec. 6
  • Preliminary Voting Ends, Tuesday, Dec. 10
  • Nominations Voting Begins, Thursday, Jan. 2, 2020
  • Nominations Voting Ends, Tuesday, Jan. 7
  • Oscar Nominations Announcement, Monday, Jan. 13
  • Oscar Nominees Luncheon, Monday, Jan. 27
  • Finals Voting Begins, Thursday, Jan. 30
  • Finals Voting Ends, Tuesday, Feb. 4
  • 92nd Oscars, Sunday, Feb. 9

As previously announced, the Academy’s Scientific and Technical Awards have moved to June 2020. Scientific and Technical Awards are given for technologies developed over a period of time and are not specific to a single awards year. Key dates are as follows:

  • Submissions open, Tuesday, July 9, 2019
  • Submission deadline, Tuesday, July 30
  • Similar technology open, Tuesday, Aug. 27
  • Similar technology deadline, Tuesday, Sept. 17
  • Awards presentation, Saturday, June 20, 2020

The 92nd Oscars will be held Sunday, Feb. 9, 2020, at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center in Hollywood, and will be televised live on the ABC Television Network. The Oscars also will be televised live in more than 225 countries and territories worldwide.

Academy Elects Board of Governors 

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences also announced its newly elected 2019-20 board of governors. Members will assume their posts July 1.

Newly elected:

  • Ellen Kuras, Cinematographers Branch
  • Ruth Elaine Carter, Costume Designers Branch
  • Donna Gigliotti, Executives Branch
  • Howard Berger, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch
  • Jennifer Yuh Nelson, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch
  • Eric Roth, Writers Branch


  • Laura Dern, Actors Branch
  • David Rubin, Casting Directors Branch
  • Steven Spielberg, Directors Branch
  • Roger Ross Williams, Documentary Branch
  • Nancy Utley, Marketing and Public Relations Branch
  • Laura Karpman, Music Branch
  • Mark Johnson, Producers Branch
  • Jan Pascale, Production Design Branch
  • Kevin Collier, Sound Branch
  • Craig Barron, Visual Effects Branch

As a result of this election, the number of female Academy governors increases from 22 to 24, and people of color increases from 10 to 11, including the three new governors-at-large – DeVon Franklin, Rodrigo Garcia and Janet Yang – recently announced.

Balloting in the Academy’s Film Editors Branch produced a tie between candidates Dody Dorn and Mark Goldblatt, necessitating a runoff election. Voting will begin Monday, June 17, and end Tuesday, June 18. The Academy last held runoff elections in 2018 for the Producers Branch and in 2016 for the Film Editors Branch.

The Academy’s 17 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. The board of governors sets the Academy’s strategic vision, preserves the organization’s financial health, and assures the fulfillment of its mission.

For a full list of the 2018-19 Academy governors, click here.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News

View All News