Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Maddie & Tae moved to tears - and to write - after seeing 'Breakthrough'


Thu, Apr 4th 2019 04:25 pm

Maddie & Tae are featured on the soundtrack for the movie “Breakthrough,” which includes music from and inspired by the highly anticipated motion picture. The two were sent the film and were “blown away” by the inspirational flick.

“They sent us the movie ‘Breakthrough,’ and they sent it to us and we watched it on our computers individually. And I got a notepad out and just wrote down things that inspired me, but I cried probably every five minutes, and so it was hard to write thoughts down ‘cause I was so moved,” Maddie Marlow said. “Faith is a huge thing for Tae and I. We are very vocal about our faith, and just watching a movie that can invoke that much emotion and I feel like they captured the story so well and the acting was so good in the movie and I was so, so inspired and moved by it.”

The ladies were so inspired by the movie, the story and the acting, they were motivated to write a song called “People Need People,” which ended up on the film’s soundtrack.

“Breakthrough,” starring Chrissy Metz (“This is Us”), Josh Lucas (“Sweet Home Alabama”) and Topher Grace (“That ‘70s Show”), is based on the inspirational true story of one mother’s unfaltering love and faith in the face of impossible odds when her son falls through an icy Missouri lake. She refuses to give up hope, as he lies lifeless.

The soundtrack, which also features songs contributed by Carrie Underwood, Lauren Alaina, Darius Rucker, Mickey Guyton, Adam Hambrick and film star Metz, among others, is available Friday, and the film will be released nationwide April 17.

Maddie & Tae, who are nominated for Duo of the Year at this year’s ACM Awards, will hit the road with Underwood on the “Cry Pretty Tour 360” beginning May 1 in Greensboro, North Carolina.

“Breakthrough” Soundtrack Track List:

  • “I’m Standing With You” – Chrissy Metz
  • “Hold On” – Mickey Guyton
  • “Love Wins” – Carrie Underwood
  • “Breathe Again” – Lauren Alaina
  • “Big Old Shoulders” – Darius Rucker
  • “Colorful” – Jukebox the Ghost
  • “Play It Again” – Pigeon John
  • “Looking Out for Me” – Adam Hambrick
  • “People Need People” – Maddie & Tae
  • “This Is Amazing Grace” – Phil Wickham feat. Lecrae
  • “Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)” – Taylor Mosby feat. Kirk Franklin

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News

View All News