Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

N-W football hosts annual banquet

by yarger
Thu, Dec 6th 2018 05:00 pm
Jake DeWolf, left, is pictured with Falcons coach Russ Nixon after receiving the 2018 Coach John W. LaChance Most Valuable Player award. (Photos by David Yarger)
Jake DeWolf, left, is pictured with Falcons coach Russ Nixon after receiving the 2018 Coach John W. LaChance Most Valuable Player award. (Photos by David Yarger)
By David Yarger
Tribune Editor
On Sunday afternoon, the Niagara-Wheatfield Falcons football team celebrated its season at the Four Points Sheraton, 7001 Buffalo Ave., for the team's end of the year banquet.
Senior jerseys, team awards and prizes were handed out.
Also, 14 players were recognized as Class A All Stars, including Jake Leising (honorable mention, defense), Kevin Cannon (honorable mention, defense), Griffin Cornwall (honorable mention, defense), Noah Bennett (honorable mention defense), Tommy Peltier (honorable mention, defense), Nick Stott (Second Team, offense), Kenny Jungier (Second Team, offense), Noah Mixon (Second Team, defense), Cody Guiliani (Second Team, defense), Kevin Halford (First Team, offense; Trench Trophy honoree), Antonio Conklin (First Team, defense), Josh Thibeault (First Team, defense), Jordan Parks (First Team, offense) and Jake DeWolf (First Team, defense; Class A1 Defensive Player of the Year). Parks (offense) and DeWolf (defense) also received All-Western New York honorable mentions.
Coach Russ Nixon said to have 14 players receive awards is "indicative of the success we had on the field as a team (and) the success our players had as individuals. As a coach, it makes me very proud that our players were recognized, not just by our coaches, but by coaches who we competed against."
The team also handed out five team awards to five players.
First, Conklin was recognized by Joel Holka as the 2018 Holka Insurance Maximum Effort award winner for Niagara-Wheatfield. The award is presented to an individual who was selected by his team for hard work, a positive attitude and leading by example.
Antonio Conklin alongside Joel Holka
Andrew Augugliaro was awarded the 2018 Falcon Pride Award. The award goes to a player who demonstrated pride in every aspect of his game, whether during practice or on game day, and is someone who is always will to do anything necessary to help the team succeed.
Andrew Augugliaro, flanked by coaches Sal Perricelli (left) and Russ Nixon
Thibeault was awarded the 2018 Coach Armand Cacciatore ACE award. The honor is presented to a player who lives by the characteristics important to Cacciatore, which is faith, commitment, courage, hard work, integrity, strong sense of family, and the determination to be the best you can be.
Josh Thibeault alongside Perricelli and Nixon.
Jungier was honored with the Teammate of the Year award for his switch from tight end to offensive line. The award is presented to an individual who personifies what a teammate should be and someone who exemplifies selfless play, commitment and dedication to his team.
Kenny Jungier alongside Perricelli and Nixon.
Guiliani was awarded the Golden Hammer award. The honor is given to the team's hardest hitter.
Cody Guiliani with his Golden Hammer trophy. He is flanked by Perricelli, coach Joe Kizska and Nixon.
Lastly, DeWolf was given the Coach John W. LaChance Most Valuable Player award.
The 2018 Falcons football team finished 6-3 - one of the best records in over 10 years - and were winners of the 2018 Class A Chuck Funke Bowl.
Seniors for the Falcons include, Parks, Peltier, Kyle Jungier, Joe Lozina, Bennett, DeWolf, Stott, Raejaun Smith, Thibeault, Justin Pangrazio, Mixon, Conklin, James McVay, Guiliani, Noah Greene, Halford, Leising, Patrick Beier, Will Gansworth, Jacob Gaydos, Nick Virtuoso, Cannon and Kenny Jungier.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News