Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Wegmans wins Safer Choice Partner of the Year Award


Tue, Dec 4th 2018 03:40 pm
The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency is recognizing Wegmans Food Markets as one of 12 national Safer Choice Partner of the Year award-winners for outstanding achievement in 2017 for the design, manufacture and promotion of cleaning and other products that carry the Safer Choice label for use in households and facilities nationwide.
"The Safer Choice Partner of the Year awards go to businesses that extend their goals beyond the bottom line to provide consumers with products that are safer for human health and the environment," said Regional Administrator Pete Lopez. "Wegmans' initiative to educate their employees and customers about the Safer Choice-certified products on their shelves represents ideal business leadership in safer products and sustainability."
Wegmans carries 17 store-branded Safer Choice-certified products in addition to a variety of certified national brands. Wegmans started rolling out its Safer Choice-certified store brands in 2017 and created a "playbook" that was sent to all stores to educate the employees about Safer Choice. Wegmans also designed an integrated marketing campaign to educate its customers about what the Safer Choice label means.
Safer Choice recognized Wegmans for its prominent use of the Safer Choice label and for fostering awareness of the program through its website, direct mail advertisements, employee education, and in-store displays. Safer Choice also applauded Wegmans for its commitment to transition all Wegmans-brand household cleaning products, laundry detergents and dish detergents to Safer Choice-certified formulas.
The 2018 Partner of the Year award-winners represent leadership organizations, including small- and medium-sized businesses, universities and local governments.
More information about the 2018 Safer Choice Partner of the Year award winners is available at: http://www.epa.gov/saferchoice/safer-choice-partner-year-awards.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News