Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Arts Services Initiative of WNY accepting applications for Fendrick Theatre Fund


Wed, Aug 15th 2018 12:00 pm
One $1,000 grant to be awarded this year
Arts Services Initiative of Western New York is now accepting applications for the David R. Fendrick Theatre Fund. One grant in the amount of $1,000 will be awarded for the writing or production of new theater works, the new production of an existing work, experimental and multimedia theatrical productions, or the completion of works in progress. Applications will be taken online at www.asiwny.org and are due by 11:59 p.m. Monday, Aug. 27.
Since 1989, the David R. Fendrick Theatre Fund has awarded grants to individual artists to enable them to realize or take part in a specific work of theater. Eligible applicants include actors, directors, writers, designers, performance artists, musicians or any person, regardless of descriptive title or relationship to a particular institution, who contributes to the creative process of theater. The grants are made in memory of fund establishers and founders Neil Garvey and Jesse Kregal.
"Arts Services Initiative is proud to carry on the work of Neil and Jesse, and the legacy of David Fendrick, by continuing the Fendrick Theatre Fund," ASI Interim Executive Director Jen Swan said. "And what better time to announce this grant than the week of 'Curtain Up!' when the community celebrates our region's amazing theater scene and the launch of a new season."
The David R. Fendrick Theatre Fund was established in memory of David Roos Fendrick (1941-88), a critically applauded Western New York actor, director, writer and scholar. Fendrick was the youngest member of the first Lincoln Center Repertory Co., and went on to a respected career in regional theaters across the country, including Buffalo's Studio Arena Theatre. Among his many distinguished performances was his portrayal of Irish rebel and writer Brendan Behan in a one-man show that continues to hold the record as Buffalo's longest-running theatrical performance.
Past recipients include Tom Dooney, Robert Waterhouse, Michelle Costa, Jack Hunter, Kelli Bocock-Natale and Michael Hake, Vincent O' Neill, Jerry Finnegan, Geraldine Duskin, Kenneth Shaw, Susan Hodge Anner, Timothy White, Kelly Beuth, Anthony Cardinale, Anna Kay France, David Oliver, Matthew LaChiusa and Joy Scime.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News