Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Olivia Munn to host 23rd annual critics' choice awards


Fri, Jan 5th 2018 05:30 pm
The Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) and the Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) announced actor, author and activist Olivia Munn will host the 23rd annual Critics' Choice Awards. The winners will be revealed live at the star-studded Critics' Choice Awards gala on Thursday, Jan. 11, broadcast from the Barker Hangar in Santa Monica on The CW Network at 8 p.m. ET. 
"We are absolutely thrilled to have Olivia hosting this year's ceremony, and know that she will deliver an entertaining and sharp-witted evening to everyone in the room, and the viewers at home," said BFCA President Joey Berlin. "Beyond her skills as an actress, Olivia's work as an activist within the industry gives her a powerful voice, making her the perfect candidate to lead this night honoring the best and brightest in film and television."
Munn will next be seen on film, as the lead in the action-thriller "Hummingbird" and starring in Shane Black's "The Predator" opposite Keegan-Michael Key and Sterling K. Brown. She will also appear in "Buddy Games," Josh Duhamel's directing debut, and recently finished shooting the second season of the History Channel's "SIX." Among her most recent movies are "The LEGO Ninjago Movie," "Office Christmas Party" and "X-Men: Apocalypse." Munn's television credits include Aaron Sorkin's HBO political drama "The Newsroom" and Comedy Central's "The Daily Show."
As previously announced, The Association of National Advertisers (ANA) and The CW Network will partner at the Critics' Choice Awards to honor "Wonder Woman" star Gal Gadot with the #SeeHer Award, which will be presented by director Patty Jenkins. The #SeeHer Award recognizes a woman who embodies the values set forth by the #SeeHer movement: To push boundaries on changing stereotypes and recognize the importance of accurately portraying women across the entertainment landscape. Gadot broke through this year as a powerful voice advocating for women, not only on screen as the iconic Wonder Woman, but in life as well, using her platform to encourage those in the entertainment industry and beyond to strive for fairness and parity across genders.
Viola Davis received last year's inaugural #SeeHer Award.
The Critics' Choice Awards are bestowed annually by the BFCA and BTJA to honor the finest in cinematic and television achievement. The BFCA is the largest film critics' organization in the U.S. and Canada, representing more than 300 television, radio and online critics. BFCA members are the primary source of information for today's film-going public. BTJA is the collective voice of journalists who regularly cover television for TV viewers, radio listeners, and online audiences.
Historically, the Critics' Choice Awards are the most- accurate predictor of Academy Award nominations.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News