Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Robin Faulring and Michael Broderick were honored with the `Artpark Community Ambassador Award` at the Artpark & Company annual meeting.
Robin Faulring and Michael Broderick were honored with the "Artpark Community Ambassador Award" at the Artpark & Company annual meeting.

Artpark & Company board reviews season, elects 4 new directors


Thu, Oct 12th 2017 04:15 pm
'Artpark Community Ambassador Award' debuts
Artpark & Company's annual meeting was held Tuesday. Directors reviewed what they deemed a vibrant season of music, visual arts, theater, public art and education.
The diverse season presented 144 events that served 139,000 park visitors. Artpark's summer programming continues to expand and was highlighted by:
•A four-week intensive theater academy for children, who then presented a full Mainstage Theater production of "Fiddler on the Roof Jr."
•The Summer Solstice Celebration Festival, which incorporated the annual Fairy House Festival, the re-creation of the art piece "Niagara 1979" by Gene Davis (aka the "Painted Parking Lot").
•A reading of "Elephant in the Room," a musical theater development project.
•The "Sound of the Community" free workshop led by internationally renowned musician Cyro Baptista. This coincided with the launch of an interactive sound-generating installation, "Beat Blossom" by Shasti O'Leary Soudant, which is now a permanent expansion of the Artpark Percussion Garden.
Artpark Executive Director Sonia Clark said, "My deepest gratitude goes to Artpark staff, board of directors, partners and supporters for a great year of diverse programming, increased financial stability and community support. This year marks a very significant step toward a multifaceted cultural organization presenting a cornucopia of art forms in the highest quality. Artpark nurtures artists and cultivates public interest of the arts, while supporting and educating the community in the process through affordable or free programming with a significant economic impact."
The first "Artpark Community Ambassador Award" was presented to Michael Broderick and Robin Faulring of The Orange Cat Coffee Company, "for galvanizing grassroots community support for Artpark and the people we serve."
Broderick and Faulring's many contributions to the organization were spotlighted by their devoted fundraising efforts for the "Niagara 1979" Kickstarter project to re-create Davis' famous parking lot painting in the summer of 2017.
The board re-elected Chairwoman Dena Armstrong of Sevenson Environmental for her second term. Alison Lytle of Lytle and Associates was re-elected as vice chair. Vince Agnello of Niagara University was elected to serve as vice chair. Stephen Turner of the Bonadio Group will serve as treasurer, while Mary Jo Farrell will continue as board secretary.
New directors elected include Francine DelMonte, Marcy Newman, Joseph Philippone of KeyBank, and Jeffrey Williams.
The board re-elected the following directors to three-year terms: Ruthanne O'Dell-Armstrong, Paulette M. Crooke, Lytle, Christopher Lee, Michael Todaro, Michael Vitch and Wayne D. Wisbaum.
Elected to the advisory council for a one-year term: Town of Lewiston Supervisor Steve Broderick, Village of Lewiston Mayor Terry Collesano, Thomas Brydges, Daniel Cantara III, Thomas Fatta, Brian Geary, Michele O. Heffernan, Pamela Jacobs-Vogt, Seymour Knox IV, Richard Soluri, Lorie Washuta, New York State Assemblyman Angelo Morinello, New York State Sen. Robert G. Ortt and Niagara County Legislator Rebecca Wydysh.
The Earl W. Brydges Artpark is operated under a license agreement by Artpark & Company Inc. for the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation.
Artpark & Company welcomed new directors at a meeting held earlier this week. From left: Board Chairwoman Dena Armstrong stands with new members Joseph Philippone, Marcy Newman and Jeffrey Williams. (Not pictured: Francine DelMonte)

Hometown News

View All News