Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

NBC to broadcast all Winter Olympic programming live across all time zones

Submitted

Wed, Mar 29th 2017 10:35 pm
NBC logo
NBC logo

In Winter Olympics first, all US viewers can watch daytime, primetime & 'Primetime Plus' dayparts on NBC at same time

PyeongChang primetime program will begin most nights at 8 p.m. ET

For the first time ever at a Winter Olympics, NBC will broadcast all of its Olympic programming live across all time zones. Whether daytime, primetime or late night, all U.S. viewers will be able to watch NBC's coverage of the XXIII Olympic Winter Games from PyeongChang, South Korea, at the same time.

The announcement was made by Jim Bell, president, NBC Olympics production and programming.

"Nothing brings America together for two weeks like the Olympics, and that communal experience will now be shared across the country at the same time, both on television and streaming online," Bell said. "That means social media won't be ahead of the action in any time zone and, as a result, none of our viewers will have to wait for anything. This is exciting news for the audience, the advertisers and our affiliates alike."

On most nights of the 2018 Olympic Winter Games, the primetime broadcast will begin at 8 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CT, 6 p.m. MT, and 5 p.m. PT. It will be followed in all time zones by local news, and then a "Primetime Plus" program, consisting of live continuing coverage from PyeongChang. A replay of the primetime program will follow "Primetime Plus."

NBCUniversal announced last month that Mike Tirico will serve as the host of the primetime program for NBC's coverage of the XXIII Olympic Winter Games from PyeongChang, South Korea, taking over for Bob Costas, who had served in the role for NBC since 1992. NBC's PyeongChang primetime coverage begins Thursday, Feb. 8, 2018. The opening ceremony takes place on Friday, Feb. 9.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News