Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Taylor Swift, Fifth Harmony, Ariana Grande, Justin Bieber, Selena Gomez, Tori Kelly among winners of 2016 Radio Disney Music Awards


Sat, Apr 30th 2016 11:10 pm

Gwen Stefani performed

'Disney Channel Presents the 2016 Radio Disney Music Awards' to air Sunday, May 1 (7 p.m. EDT), on Disney Channel

Taylor Swift, Fifth Harmony, Justin Bieber and Selena Gomez were among the top winners Saturday at the 2016 Radio Disney Music Awards, music's biggest event for families, which took place at Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles and included performances by Ariana Grande, Daya, DNCE, Flo Rida, Hailee Steinfeld, Jordan Smith, Kelsea Ballerini, Laura Marano, Sabrina Carpenter, Sofia Carson, Zara Larsson and a special performance by "Hero" Award recipient Gwen Stefani.

The telecast, "Disney Channel Presents the 2016 Radio Disney Music Awards," will air Sunday, May 1 (7-9 p.m.), on Disney Channel.

A special performance by Bieber at a Tulsa, Oklahoma, high school will also be presented exclusively during the televised special.

Additional highlights from the special include an epic drum-off between Muppet icon Animal and Fall Out Boy's Andy Hurley; a never-before-seen mash-up of Ballerini's "Peter Pan" and Daya's "Hide Away"; the first television performances of Carson's "Love Is The Name" and Marano's "Boombox"; big wins by "The Freshest - Best New Artist" Ballerini and inaugural Radio Disney Country double winners Maddie & Tae; and Pharrell presenting Stefani with the "Hero" Award in recognition of the positive impact she has on fans. Minnesota Timberwolves' Zach Lavine also presented two Radio Disney fans, Whitney Stewart and Braeden Mannering, with this year's Heroes For Change award.

More votes than ever - over 238 million from around the world - were cast for the 2016 RDMA across five polling platforms: the Radio Disney App, Disney.com/RDMA, Twitter, Facebook and Google OneBox. Winners of RDMA nominations were awarded with the uniquely Radio Disney "ARDY" statuette. 

The 2016 Radio Disney Music Awards winners are:

"You Know You Love Them - Best Music Group (Presented By Kraft Macaroni and Cheese Shapes)"

Fifth Harmony

"He's The One - Best Male Artist"

Ed Sheeran

"She's The One - Best Female Artist"

Selena Gomez

"The Bestest - Song Of The Year"

"Bad Blood" - Taylor Swift

"XOXO - Best Crush Song"

"Perfect" - One Direction

"So Fantastic - Fiercest Fans"


"The Buzz - Breakout Artist Of The Year"

Tori Kelly

"The Freshest - Best New Artist"

Kelsea Ballerini

"So Happy - Best Song That Makes You Smile (Presented By Cheddar Goldfish crackers)"

"Better When I'm Dancing" - Meghan Trainor

"#COOL - Radio Disney's Most Talked About Artist"

Taylor Swift

"Stuck In Our Heads - Best Song To Lip Sync To (Presented By Band-Aid Brand Adhesive Bandages)"

"What Do You Mean?" - Justin Bieber

"That's My Jam - Best Anthem"

"Eyes Wide Open" - Sabrina Carpenter

"Move! - Best Song To Dance To"

"Focus" - Ariana Grande

"Heartbreak - Best Breakup Song"

"Bad Blood" - Taylor Swift

"You've Got Swag! - Artist With The Best Style"

Becky G

"Radio Disney Country Favorite Song"

"Fly" - Maddie & Tae

"Radio Disney Country Favorite Artist"

Maddie & Tae

comments powered by Disqus