Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Entry deadline approaching for 2016 Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting Competition


Mon, Apr 11th 2016 03:10 pm

The regular deadline to submit entries for the 2016 Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting competition is 2:59 a.m. ET Tuesday, April 19. In November, as many as five $35,000 fellowships will be awarded to emerging screenwriters. The entry fee is $60.

The final deadline is 2:59 a.m. Tuesday, May 3. The entry fee is $85.

Online applications and complete rules are available at www.oscars.org/nicholl.

Current entrants also may purchase, for an additional $40, review comments from at least two Nicholl readers for each submitted script. For details, visit www.oscars.org/nicholl/about.

Since 1986, 142 fellowships have been awarded. Nicholl fellows have written or co-written projects that have generated more than $7.1 billion in box office revenue. Recent accomplishments of Nicholl fellows include:

  • Destin Cretton and Andrew Lanham are collaborating as co-writers on "The Glass Castle," with Cretton also directing.
  • Raymond De Felitta directed the ABC-TV miniseries "Madoff."
  • Robert Edwards wrote and directed "One More Time," opening theatrically this month.
  • Susannah Grant co-wrote "The 5th Wave," which opened theatrically in January. Grant also wrote "Confirmation," set to air on HBO this month.
  • Anthony Jaswinski wrote "The Shallows," slated to be released in June.
  • Karen Moncrieff and Rebecca Sonnenshine are collaborating on "The Keeping Hours," with Sonnenshine writing and Moncrieff directing. Sonnenshine also is a writer and supervising producer on "The Vampire Diaries."
  • Creighton Rothenberger co-wrote "London Has Fallen," which opened theatrically in March.
  • Abel Vang and Burlee Vang co-wrote and co-directed "Bedeviled," now in post-production.

Other notable fellows include Allison Anders ("Gas Food Lodging," "Things behind the Sun"), Doug Atchison ("Akeelah and the Bee"), Jacob Estes ("The Details"), Jeffrey Eugenides ("The Virgin Suicides," "Middlesex"), Ehren Kruger ("The Ring," "Transformers: Age of Extinction"), Andrew Marlowe ("Air Force One," "Castle") and Terri Edda Miller ("Castle").

The Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting competition is open to any individual who has not earned a lifetime total of more than $25,000 from the sale or option of screenplays or teleplays. To enter, writers must submit a completed application online, upload one PDF copy of their original screenplays in English, and pay the required entry fee before the regular deadline or the final deadline.

Fellowships are awarded with the understanding the recipients will each complete a new feature-length screenplay during the fellowship year.

Last year's competition drew 7,442 submissions.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News

View All News