Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

'Sunday Night Football': NFC North championship on the line when Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers host Adrian Peterson, Minnesota Vikings


Sat, Jan 2nd 2016 01:00 pm

Coverage begins with 'Football Night In America'

The NFC North title will be decided on NBC Sports' "Sunday Night Football" this weekend when Aaron Rodgers and the Green Bay Packers (10-5, NFC North) host Adrian Peterson and the Minnesota Vikings (10-5, NFC North) at Lambeau Field in Green Bay, Wisconsin, at 8:30 p.m. ET on NBC.

Coverage begins with "Football Night In America" at 7 p.m.

The Vikings and Packers enter Week 17 having already clinched postseason berths, but the critical division crown and No. 3 seed in the NFC playoffs are at stake.

Minnesota earned its ticket to the postseason with a decisive 49-17 win against the New York Giants on "Sunday Night Football" last week, as Peterson rushed for 104 yards and one touchdown. Green Bay is looking to bounce back from a 38-8 loss to the Arizona Cardinals in Glendale, Arizona, last week, as the Cardinals defense sacked Rodgers eight times and returned two of his fumbles for touchdowns.

Since the 2006 season, including playoff games, the Packers hold a 15-4-1 record against the Vikings, including a win in their NFC Wild Card playoff game in 2012. The Vikings have not won in Green Bay since the 2009 season.

With a victory Sunday night, the Packers would win the NFC North title and the No. 3 seed. A loss would force the Packers on the road in the Wild Card round as the No. 5 seed to travel to face the Washington Redskins, who are locked into the No. 4 seed as NFC East champions.

The Vikings would also clinch the No. 3 seed with a win on Sunday night. If they lose, they would either finish with the No. 5 seed and face Washington in the Wild Card round, or drop to the No. 6 seed, and return to Lambeau Field for a rematch next week against the Packers.

Calling Vikings-Packers are seven-time Emmy Award-winner Al Michaels (play-by-play), in his record 30th season as the voice of the NFL's premier primetime package; 16-time Emmy Award-winner Cris Collinsworth, who has won the Emmy for Outstanding Event Analyst in each of his six seasons in the "SNF" booth; and two-time Emmy Award-winning sideline reporter Michele Tafoya.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News