Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Goo Goo Dolls 'A Boy Named Goo' special 20th anniversary edition to be released Nov. 27 featuring previously unreleased live tracks


Fri, Oct 2nd 2015 11:15 am

'Dizzy Up The Girl' to be released on vinyl for first time ever Oct. 23

Goo Goo Dolls are celebrating the 20th anniversary of "A Boy Named Goo" this year with special vinyl, CD and digital releases of the album, featuring seven previously unreleased tracks. The new tracks were all recorded live at The Academy in New York back in November of 1995 and include both acoustic recordings and covers. All versions of this anniversary edition will be on sale Nov. 27. Fans who pre-order now will receive the instant grat live version of "Long Way Down."

Additionally, the band's multiplatinum hit album "Dizzy Up the Girl" will be available on vinyl for the first time starting Oct. 23. A limited number of signed copies will also be available for pre-order here: http://smarturl.it/DizzySigned.

The Goo Goo Dolls have become one of the most influential forces in popular music history, selling more than 10 million albums since 1986. They have scored 14 top 10 radio hits (more than any other artist in the history of the hot AC format), including "Name," "Slide" and "Iris," the latter spending nearly 12 straight months on the Billboard charts and holding the No. 1 position for 17 consecutive weeks.

The band, which comprises vocalist-guitarist John Rzeznik and bassist Robby Takac, has toured the globe countless times, performed in front of millions of fans, received numerous awards (including four Grammy Award nominations), and recorded and released nine studio albums. Rzeznik also has been honored with the Songwriters Hall of Fame Hal David Starlight Award.

"A Boy Named Goo" 20th anniversary track listing:

1. "Long Way Down"

2. "Burnin' Up"

3. "Naked"

4. "Flat Top"

5. "Impersonality"

6. "Name"

7. "Only One"

8. "Somethin' Bad"

9. "Ain't That Unusual"

10. "So Long"

11. "Eyes Wide Open"

12. "Disconnected"

13. "Slave Girl"

14. "Long Way Down"*

15. "Name"*

16. "Naked"*

17. "Impersonality"*

18. "Million Miles Away"* (Plimsouls cover)

19. "Don't Change"* (INXS cover)

20. "Flat Top"*

*Previously unreleased, live, all from The Academy

Pre-order "A Boy Named Goo" 20th anniversary edition here: http://smarturl.it/BoyNamedGooLP.

Hometown News

View All News