Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

NBC Sports to present unprecedented live coverage of U.S. Olympic Team trials marathon in February 2016

by jmaloni


Thu, Aug 20th 2015 02:30 pm

U.S. Olympic Team trials marathon for men and women to air live for first time

Coverage airs Saturday, Feb. 13

NBC Sports Group, the U.S. Olympic Committee, USA Track & Field, and LA MARATHON announced today NBC will broadcast unprecedented live coverage of the U.S. Olympic Team trials marathon for men and women from Los Angeles beginning at 1 p.m. ET. Saturday, Feb. 13, 2016.

This marks the first time in U.S. Olympic Team trials history that the men's and women's marathons will be televised live nationally. NBC Sports Live Extra - NBC Sports Group's live streaming product for desktops, mobile devices, tablets, and connected TVs - will live stream the coverage.

"The 'Road to Rio' will begin on the streets of Los Angeles as we start our U.S. Olympic Team trials coverage with an unprecedented live presentation of the men's and women's marathons," said Gary Zenkel, president of NBC Olympics. "This is a great start to our deepest U.S. trials coverage ever."

"NBC's commitment to Team USA and the Olympic Games is extraordinary, and we're thrilled that these world-class athletes will be able to compete on live television," USOC CEO Scott Blackmun said. "Whether you're one of the thousands lining the race course in Los Angeles or one of the millions watching at home, these athletes will show you just how much it means to represent the United States of America at the Olympic Games."

"Being able to ensure live, national television coverage was a top priority for USATF in the 2016 Olympic trials selection process," USATF CEO Max Siegel said. "With NBC's coverage, the stars of one of this country's biggest cultural and athletic movements will receive unprecedented national exposure. Feb. 13 will be a great day for distance running in the United States."

Expected to headline the men's field will be 2014 Boston Marathon winner Meb Keflezighi, a three-time Olympian who earned a silver medal in Athens (2004) and placed fourth in London (2012). Other notable Olympians expected in the field include Abdi Abdirahman (2000, '04, '08, '12), Ryan Hall (2008, '12), Dathan Ritzenhein (2004, '08, '12) and Matt Tegenkamp (2008, '12).

The women's field is expected to be led by three-time Olympian Shalane Flanagan, who won a bronze medal in the 10,000m at the 2008 Beijing Olympics, and placed 10th in the marathon at the 2012 London Games. London Olympian Desiree Linden, who finished fourth in the 2015 Boston Marathon, will be looking to make her second consecutive Olympic team. Other notable Olympians expected in the field include Amy Cragg (2012), Kara Goucher (2008, 2012) and 2004 Olympic bronze medalist Deena Kastor (2000, '04, '08).

The Rio Olympics begin Aug. 5, 2016.

comments powered by Disqus