Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Cheryl Boone Isaacs re-elected Academy president

by jmaloni


Wed, Aug 5th 2015 04:55 pm

Cheryl Boone Isaacs was re-elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Tuesday night by the organization's board of governors.

In addition, Jeffrey Kurland was elected first vice president; John Bailey, Kathleen Kennedy and Bill Kroyer were elected to vice president posts; Jim Gianopulos was elected treasurer; and Phil Robinson was elected secretary.

Boone Isaacs is beginning her third term as president and her 23rd year as a governor representing the public relations branch. Kurland and Bailey were re-elected to their posts. Kennedy has served previous terms as vice president. Last year, Kroyer served as secretary. This will be the first officer stint for Gianopulos. Robinson has served previous terms as vice president and secretary.

Boone Isaacs currently heads CBI Enterprises Inc., where she consults on film marketing efforts. Starting this September, she will be an adjunct professor at Chapman University's Dodge College of Film and Media Arts. She recently received an honorary doctorate from the University of North Carolina School of the Arts. Over her career, Boone Isaacs has consulted on such films as "The Call," "The Artist," "The King's Speech," "Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire," "Spider-Man 2" and "Tupac: Resurrection." Boone Isaacs previously served as president of theatrical marketing for New Line Cinema, where she oversaw numerous box office successes, including "Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me" and "Rush Hour." Prior to joining New Line in 1997, she was executive vice president of worldwide publicity for Paramount Pictures, where she orchestrated publicity campaigns for the Best Picture winners "Forrest Gump" and "Braveheart." 

Academy board members may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms, while officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive years in any one office.

For a full listing of the Academy's 2015-16 board of governors, click here.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News