Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

ABC's 'Dancing with the Stars' announces pro dancers battling to win Mirrorball Trophy

by jmaloni


Wed, Feb 11th 2015 10:40 am

New celebrity cast to be revealed Tuesday, Feb. 24, exclusively on "Good Morning America"

"Dancing with the Stars" 10th anniversary premieres live Monday, March 16

The competition is just beginning for what's sure to be one of the most exciting seasons of "Dancing with the Stars" yet. It all kicked off this morning when 10 pro dancers were revealed exclusively on "Good Morning America" in anticipation of the 10th anniversary season premiere Monday, March 16 (8-10:01 p.m. ET) on the ABC Television Network. 

This season's set of professional dancers includes a beloved returning pro, the reigning Mirrorball champ, and show favorites who will each teach their celebrity partner how to bring heat to the dance floor. Fans will have to wait to find out who the two remaining pros are when they're announced in the coming weeks, completing the cast of 12 dancers.

Additionally, the celebrity cast for season 20 will be announced live on "Good Morning America" Tuesday, Feb. 24 (7-9 a.m., ET).

This season of "Dancing with the Stars" will not only be a celebration of the last 10 years, it will also continue to innovate and surprise with both new and returning theme nights, including "Disney Night," "Latin Night" and introducing "Spring Break" night. Viewers will have more access to the show than ever before. #DWTSAllAccess will expand to offer viewers a look behind the scenes with six live streams from key positions in the ballroom, as well as never-before-seen live streams from the "DWTS" rehearsal studio available for viewers to watch throughout the week on ABC.com.

As announced this morning on "GMA," the 10 pros returning to the dance floor (in alphabetical order) are:

  • Mark Ballas
  • Sharna Burges
  • Witney Carson
  • Artem Chigvintsev
  • Valentin Chmerkovskiy
  • Tony Dovolani
  • Allison Holker
  • Kym Johnson
  • Peta Murgatroyd
  • Emma Slater

Hosted by Emmy Award-winning Tom Bergeron ("America's Funniest Home Videos") and Erin Andrews (sports host), "Dancing with the Stars" is the hit series in which celebrities perform choreographed dance routines judged by renowned ballroom judge Len Goodman, two-time Mirrorball champ and actress Julianne Hough, and dancer/choreographers Bruno Tonioli and Carrie Ann Inaba.

Hometown News

View All News