Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Tony-winning 'Frozen' star Idina Menzel announces track listing for Christmas album, 'Holiday Wishes'

by jmaloni


Mon, Sep 29th 2014 04:35 pm

Tony Award-winning singer/actor Idina Menzel has announced the track listing for her upcoming Christmas album, "Holiday Wishes," which will be released Oct. 14 by Warner Bros. Records. The album was produced by Grammy Award-winner Walter Afanasieff (Barbra Streisand, Celine Dion, Mariah Carey) and features such classic favorites as "All I Want For Christmas Is You" and "Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas," as well as Joni Mitchell's Christmas-themed "River," one of Menzel's favorites.

An exclusive Target edition of "Holiday Wishes" will feature two bonus tracks: "Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!" See below for the full track listing.

Menzel's career has traversed stage, film, television and music. She was most recently heard as Elsa in Disney's global box office smash "Frozen," in which she sings the film's Oscar-winning song "Let It Go." After Menzel's performance of the multi-platinum song at the 86th Annual Academy Awards, she made history as the first person with both a Billboard Top 10 hit and a Tony Award for acting.

Menzel earned her first Tony nomination as Maureen in the Pulitzer Prize-winning musical "Rent," and won the award for her performance as Elphaba in "Wicked." Other notable roles include Rachel Berry's mother, Shelby Corcoran, on the television show "Glee," as well as starring opposite Susan Sarandon and Amy Adams in Disney's "Enchanted." Menzel starred in her own PBS special, "Barefoot at the Symphony," with an accompanying live album of the same name. Her successful international concert tour recently included a sold-out performance at Radio City Music Hall. In addition to cast albums, Menzel's recording career includes the solo albums "I Stand," "Here" and "Still I Can't Be Still."

Menzel can currently be seen on Broadway as Elizabeth in the original production "If/Then," for which she earned critical acclaim and her third Tony nomination. She performed "Always Starting Over" from the musical at this year's Tony Awards.

The track listing for "Holiday Wishes" is as follows:

  • "Do You Hear What I Hear?"
  • "The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire)"
  • "Baby It's Cold Outside"
  • "Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas"
  • "All I Want For Christmas Is You"
  • "What Are You Doing On New Year's Eve?"
  • "December Prayer"
  • "When You Wish Upon A Star"
  • "Silent Night"
  • "River"
  • "Holly Jolly Christmas"
  • "White Christmas"

Target exclusive tracks:

  • "Mothers Spiritual"
  • "Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!"

comments powered by Disqus