Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

CMA Vocal Group of the Year Little Big Town joins Darius Rucker to announce final nominees for 48th CMA Awards

by jmaloni


Tue, Aug 26th 2014 01:15 pm

Hosted for the seventh time by Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood, the 48th Annual CMA Awards airs live Wednesday, Nov. 5, on the ABC Television Network

Reigning CMA Vocal Group of the Year Little Big Town will join CMA Award winner Darius Rucker Wednesday, Sept. 3, in New York City for the announcement of the final nominees for the 48th Annual CMA Awards.

"We are thrilled to be a part of the CMA Awards announcements on 'GMA' next week," said Kimberly Schlapman of Little Big Town. "The CMA and 'GMA' have always been huge supporters of this band, so anything we can do to be involved is always fun for us. We are looking forward to unveiling all of the nominees with our buddy Darius."

Country music will take over New York City on Sept. 3. The day begins with Rucker performing "Homegrown Honey," the debut single from his upcoming new album to be released in early 2015. Following his performance, he will be joined by Little Big Town for the announcement of the final nominees in five CMA Awards categories live from the ABC "Good Morning America" studios in the heart of Times Square. The announcement will air in the 8:30 a.m. half-hour segment.

Following "Good Morning America," Little Big Town and Rucker will be at the Best Buy Theater in Times Square to announce the finalists in the remaining seven categories, along with the announcement of the CMA Broadcast Awards for Personality and Radio Station of the Year. There will be an additional presentation by the CMA Foundation's "Keep the Music Playing" music education campaign. This event will be streamed live via www.CMAawards.com beginning at 10 a.m.

Nightfall brings the 10th anniversary celebration of the CMA Songwriters Series at the Best Buy Theater with Rucker and hit tunesmiths Rivers Rutherford and series host Bob DiPiero for an in-the-round presentation of the songs that have touched the lives of millions of music fans. Luke Laird, who received three CMA Awards nominations in 2013, including Song of the Year for "Pontoon," has been added to the show, which will be streamed live via www.CMASongwritersSeries.com.

General admission tickets for the Sept. 3 (8 p.m.) CMA Songwriters Series at the Best Buy Theater are $55 plus tax and applicable fees. Attendees must be 21 and over unless accompanied by an adult. Tickets are on sale now at the Best Buy Box Office, www.AXS.com, or by calling 888-9-AXS-TIX or 888-929-7849. For more information, visit www.CMASongwritersSeries.com.

comments powered by Disqus