Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Big R: Burley, Wills, Dell, Stone, Senek win

by jmaloni

Press release

Fri, May 24th 2013 03:10 pm

by Tana Robinson

Ransomville Speedway

A total of 98 cars filled the pit area Friday, May 17, at Ransomville Speedway, set to entertain a grandstand full of race fans. It was a picture-perfect day, weather-wise, as bright blue skies greeted all who entered the half-mile dirt oval.

Todd Burley of Spencerport turned his season around as he captured the win in the Mighty Taco Modified 30-lap feature main.

To say Burley has had a tough start to the season would be an understatement (a blown rear-end on opening week followed by a blown motor on the second week). His luck couldn't get much worse. But Burley certainly showed why he has multiple modified championships under his belt as he topped the field in a big way and claimed his first win since 2011. He took the lead away from Steve Schumacher on lap 10 and never looked back.

Schumacher enjoyed one of his best Mighty Taco Modified finishes as he came in a solid second. Canadian native Tommy Flannagan would claim third, followed by hometown driver Ryan Susice and defending champion Pete Bicknell.

Scott Kerwin of Newfane took the Blue Cross/Blue Shield of WNY and National Maintenance Contracting Corporation-sponsored machine to the win in the rained-out feature main from May 10. Kerwin took the lead away from John Smith on lap three and would maintain the point position through the final 30 laps.

Having suffered a bit of a dismal start to 2013, the BCL Racing team turned things around and visited victory lane. Kerwin has won titles at the Big R in three different divisions - if he were to win one in the 358 Modifieds he would make history. Erick Rudolph came from the back of the pack to finish in second aboard his Snyder Industries-sponsored No. 25, followed by defending champion Bicknell, Rich Vinson and Ricky Richner.

Allan Wills of Ransomville took the lead away from James Henry on a late race caution and held it the remaining distance of the 25-lap Investor's Services Sportsman feature main. Wills had to contend with Billy Coleman in the late going, but would hold on aboard his No. 111 Got Milk-sponsored entry. Wills became the third different winner of the 2013 season.

Coleman finished his season best in second followed by Scott George, Henry and Kevin Wills. Henry had led the early going aboard his Norampac-sponsored No. 21.

Pat Dell of Niagara Falls captured the win aboard the 20-lap Ki-Po Chevrolet Street Stock main. He used a move to the inside of Cliff Brucker on lap 13 as the field came off turn four to take the lead aboard his No. 14p. Defending champion Alex Morris came into the event tied in points with Dell and would keep the race close as he claimed second in the feature main.

Brucker held on for his best feature finish, followed by Brian Lonneville and Jason Meyers. Lonneville came from deep in the pack to score his top five finish after blowing a motor the week prior. The 19-car field put on a great show for the fans as cars ran in a tight bunch through the entire 20-lap distance, showing that equality reigns in the full fender division.

Jim Stone of Ransomville captured his second FinditQuick.com Fireball 12-lap feature main in as many weeks aboard his No. 75 machine. Stone is the defending champion in the division and certainly looks to be in championship mode early on in 2013 as he won back-to-back features.

Chris Leone also will be a contender for that title as he enjoyed another top five finish with a second. Zack Sam came home third aboard his No. 104 followed by Matt Hartsock and Dave Dussault. It was a tough break for hot shoe Jamie Woods who lost a tire on lap four side-lining him early on.

Brett Senek of Ransomville took top honors aboard the Gippster's Collision 4 Banger 12-lap feature main. Senek took the lead at the drop of the green and held it the entire distance. He had led both of the two previous features of 2013, but would suffer mechanical woes. This would not be the case as he showed the field the quick way around. Mike "That Guy" Kramarz came home with a solid second place finish followed by May 10's winner Austin Susice, Jason Fuller and Zack Nash.

Visit www.ransomvillespeedway.com.

The Recap

Mighty Taco Modified Feature Finish - Heat Winners - Todd Burley, Steve Schumacher, Tommy Flannigan, Ryan Susice, Pete Bicknell, Jeff McGinnis, Chad Brachmann, Robbie Krull, Brian Sage, Erick Rudolph, Ricky Richner, Scott Kerwin, Justin Wright, John Smith, Nick Joy, Steve Miller, Rich Vinson, Phil Vigneri Jr. Brian Sage and Ryan Susice.

Mighty Taco Modified Feature Finish (May 10) - Scott Kerwin, Erick Rudolph, Pete Bicknell, Rich Vinson, Ricky Richner, Justin Wright, Ryan Susice, Chad Brachmann, Brian Sage, Robbie Krull, Todd Burley, Jeff McGinnis, Steve Schumacher, Tommy Flannagan, Steve Miller, John Smith, Nick Joy, Pat Vigneri and Phil Vigneri Jr.

Investor's Services Sportsman Feature Finish - Allan Wills, Billy Coleman, Scott George, James Henry, Kevin Wills, Justin Sharp, Don Spatorico, Jesse Cotriss, Mike Williams, James Michael Friesen, Nate Reynolds, Adam Hilton, Matt Farnham, Chris Burek, Bob Winters, Brett Martin, Boyd MacTavish, Phil Vigneri III, Greg Martin, Derrick Borkenhagen, Jim Zimmerman and Ken Washburn. Heat winners - Greg Martin, Billy Coleman and Jesse Cotriss.

Ki-Po Chevrolet Street Stock Feature Finish - Pat Dell, Alex Morris, Cliff Brucker, Brian Lonneville, Jason Meyers, Mike Short, Kyle Wendt, Neil Pafk, Randy Zimmerman, Ryan Stephenson, Mike Greenawalt, Jesse Johnston, Jaren Israel, Ricky Washburn, Cliff Gregg III, Webb Nashwinter, Ken Camidge, Donald Hermanson and Sean Letts. Heat winners - Ken Camidge and Cliff Brucker.

Finditquick.Com Fireball Feature Finish - Jim Stone, Chris Leone, Zack Sam, Matt Hartsock, Dave Dussault, Ashley Harbison, Chuck Leone, Chris Lederhouse, Anthony Hermanson, Jamie Woods and Patrick O'Keefe. Heat winner - Matt Hartsock.

Gippster's Collision 4 Banger Feature Finish - Brett Senek, Mike Kramarz, Austin Susice, Jason Fuller, Zack Nash, Jeff York, Ryan Plante, Eric Tupper, Gordon Gau, Howard Guthrie, Mike Pahl, Joey Zimmerman, Camille Fuller, Brett Rowles, Eugene Washburn, Matt Foster, Chris Miller, Brian Monahan Jr., Jeffrey Sonnenburg, Ken Washburn III, Brendan O'Keefe, Chris Lammerts, Jose Torres, Corey O'Keefe and Randy Chrysler Jr. Heat winners - Matt Foster and Jason Fuller.

Hometown News

View All News