Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Changes for the new year: Towns' reorganization meetings see little change

by jmaloni
Thu, Jan 10th 2013 07:00 pm

by Susan Mikula Campbell

Wheatfield held its annual reorganization meeting Jan. 2. The Town of Niagara held its reorganization Wednesday.

Neither meeting included major changes for the new year.

In Wheatfield, Supervisor Bob Cliffe did do some minor tinkering on the Town Board's twice-a-month Monday meeting schedule to avoid holidays.

"Due to the way holidays fall, we will do some jumping around to have two good Mondays per month," he said.

The meeting schedule for 2013 is: Jan. 14 and 28, Feb. 11 and 25, March 11 and 25, April 8 and 22, May 6 and 20, June 10 and 24, July 8 and 22, Aug. 12 and 26, Sept. 9 and 23, Oct. 7 and 21, Nov. 4 and 18, and Dec. 2 and 16. Meetings usually begin at 7:30 p.m. Public hearings, when needed, are scheduled prior to the regular meetings.

At the Jan. 14 meeting, there will be three public hearings. At 6:45 p.m., a hearing will be held on proposed rezoning for Cody Development for property on Shawnee Road. At 7 p.m., a public hearing will be held on the update of the Comprehensive Master Plan. At 7:15 p.m., the public hearing will address the proposed Airport Overlay District.

Councilman Kenneth Retzlaff remains as deputy supervisor for 2013. Among the new appointments made at the reorganization meeting were: Kelly Behrens as assistant court clerk, Judy Bugenhagen as ceramics instructor for the seniors, Don MacSwan as chairman to the Firearms Review Board, and Kyle Cliffe as constable.

Town Clerk Kathy Harrington-McDonnell reports that all county tax bills have been mailed and the due date for payment without penalty is Jan. 31.

•In the Town of Niagara, it has been Supervisor Steve Richards' practice to change up the appointment of deputy supervisor each year or two. This year, he was expected to appoint Councilman Danny Sklarski as deputy supervisor, replacing Councilman Marc Carpenter.

Other new appointments on the agenda included the appointment of Melissa and Larson Cerrillo to the Beautification Committee. Melissa Cerrillo was appointed deputy town clerk and deputy tax collector in December.

The Town Board will continue to meet at 7 p.m. the third Tuesday of the month, with work sessions the preceding two Thursdays. This month, however, the meeting will be on Jan. 22, with work sessions Jan. 10 and 17, because of the holidays.

Town Clerk Sylvia Virtuoso reports that new this year, the county/town tax can be paid at KeyBank, 2429 Military Road, throughout the month of January, in addition to by mail to Town Hall or during tax collection office hours at Town Hall.

comments powered by Disqus