Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Ransomville Speedway: Brachmann, Williams, Harvey Torre win at Big R

by jmaloni
Fri, Jun 22nd 2012 05:20 pm

by Tana Robinson

Ransomville Speedway

Marketing and PR Director

What a picture perfect night for racing last Friday, June 15, as Ransomville Speedway in conjunction with Johnston's Restaurant and BlueCross/BlueShield of WNY presented a full card of racing. A total of 102 cars filled the pit area set to entertain more than 2,000 fans who filled the grandstands.

Defending Mighty Taco Champion Chad Brachmann became the first two-time winner in the division after taking the checkered in the 30-lap main. A caution late in the race aided Brachmann as it bunched up the field and erased a huge lead held by Rich Vinson. Brachmann made the pass with less than a handful of laps remaining for the win.

Brachmann had started from the 17th starting position. After leading much of the event, Vinson came home in second just ahead of Scott Kerwin in third. The pair actually crossed the line almost dead even but it was Vinson with the edge. "Mr. Smallblock" Pete Bicknell finished in fourth followed by Danny Johnson. Jon Miller led for laps one through nine. A total of 28 cars took the initial green.

Mike Williams of the Tuscarora Nation captured his first ever Original Pizza Logs Sportsman feature win. Williams took the lead away from rookie Matt Farnham on lap eight and then held off multi-time champion Don Spatorico for the win. Spatorico took a look to the outside of the 6-mile on the final circuit but to no avail, as Williams beat him to the line in the 25-lap event. Williams exited his racer a very happy man and thanked his main sponsor - the Maxwell and Murphy Law Firm. Spatorico finished in the second position after starting 11th followed by Jipp Ortiz, Jesse Cotriss and Kevin Wills. A season high 24 cars took the initial green.

Charles Harvey of Niagara Falls piloted his Monster Tires-sponsored No. 01h to victory lane last Friday night aboard the 20-lap Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock feature main. Harvey captured his first of the season after taking the lead away from Pat Dell on a lap seven restart and then held off persistent challenges from SS veteran Jaren Israel for the win. Israel made a last lap effort, pulling alongside of Harvey as they came off turn four, but it was Harvey in for the win by half a car length. Israel finished in second followed by Webb Nashwinter, Alex Morris and Jake Stefanski.

Dell ended up with a dismal finish after mechanical woes sidelined his efforts. Morris came from the 11th place starting position while Stefanski was the hard charger having advanced from the 18th spot.

Jose Torres of Niagara Falls captured his first-ever Gippsters Collision 4 Banger feature. Torres took the lead away from Brian Monahan on a lap four restart and was never seriously challenged in the 12-lap main. Dave Sheehan came home in second after making a bid for the lead with just a pair of laps remaining. Mike Hossfeld rebounded after an early race spin to finish in the third position followed by Jeff York and Rick Bleich Jr. rounded out the top five. Monahan led the first three circuits but suffered a meeting with the wall late in the event to end his night.

Pit notes: Coming up, Battle at the Border - Tuesday, July 3 - $5,000 to win modified 75; and the 28th Alex Friesen Summer Nationals - Friday, Aug. 17 - $10,000 to win modified 100.

Order of Finish

Mighty Taco Modifieds Feature Finish

Chad Brachmann, Rich Vinson, Scott Kerwin, Pete Bicknell, Danny Johnson, Erick Rudolph, Ryan Susice, Mat Williamson, Todd Burley, Jon Miller, Scott Just, Tommy Flannigan, Ricky Richner, John Smith, Tim Currier, Jeff McGinnis, Scott Just, Steve Schumacher, Boyd MacTavish, Chuck Hossfeld, Pat Vigneri, Phil Vigneri, Nick Joy, Brian Sage, Robbie Krull, Sam Crogan, Anthony Rizzardo and Justin Wright. Heat Winners - Jon Miller, Scott Just and Scott Kerwin. B-Main - Dave Just.

Original Pizza Logs Sportsman Feature Finish

Mike Williams, Don Spatorico, Jipp Ortiz, Jesse Cotriss, Kevin Wills, Steve Miller, Matt Farnham, Billy Coleman, Nate Reynolds, Justin Sharp, Dave Conant, Sandy Pembleton, Greg Martin, James Henry, Don Barnes, Brett Martin, Jim Zimmerman, Kevin Drake, Sean Letts, Chris Burek, Scott Krull, Andy Jankowiak and Eddie Cain. Heat Winners - Kevin Wills, Jipp Ortiz and Jesse Cotriss.

Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish

Charles Harvey, Jaren Israel, Webb Nashwinter, Alex Morris, Jake Stefanski, Mike Greenawalt, Derrick Borkenhagen, Gerald Poole, Kyle Wendt, Mike Short, Chad Livermore, Tim Hall, Ken Camidge, Neil Pafk, Randy Zimmerman, Brandon Sherwood, Nathan Zimmerman, Ryan Stephenson, Jason Meyer, Jesse Johnston, Andrew Neiderhoffer, Pat Dell, Cliff Brucker and Don Hermanson. FindItQuick.com Heat Winners - Charles Harvey, Alex Morris and Jesse Johnston.

Gippsters Collision 4 Banger Feature Finish

Jose Torres, Dave Sheehan, Mike Hossfeld, Jeff York, Rick Bleich Jr., Mike Pahl, Ed Martin, Mark Miller, Mark Nicoletti, Jeff Sonnerberg, Ryan Plante, Todd Edsall, Michael Kramarz, BobbiLynn Spillman, Lisa Marie Dussault, Corey O'Keefe, Gordon Gau, Ronel Laviz, Camille Fuller, Brian Monahan Jr., Matt Haersock, Austin Susice and Chris Hawklins. Heat Winners - Brian Monahan and Jose Torres.

comments powered by Disqus