Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Johnson wins 50-lap Mighty Taco Modified

by jmaloni
Fri, Jun 1st 2012 07:00 pm

Coleman, Sherwood, Morris also win

by Tana Robinson

Ransomville Speedway

Marketing and PR Director

Another beautiful night greeted race fans last Friday, May 25, to kick off the holiday weekend. A total of 87 cars filled the pit area set for competition in the four star program. The fans were treated to some exciting racing as the final few laps of the Mighty Taco Modified feature brought many to their feet.

"The Doctor," Danny Johnson thrilled fans as he used an inside move on Todd Burley on the final lap coming off turn four to take the lead and the win in the 50-lap Mighty Taco Modified main. Johnson picked up a cool two grand for his efforts aboard the Randy Chrysler-owned No. 21K. The fans were on their feet for the final two circuits as Burley, Johnson, and Chad Brachmann battled for position. Again, you could have put a blanket over the top three as they took the white flag.

Burley drifted high off turn two, allowing Johnson the inside lane. Johnson would take full advantage and take the lead. At the line it was Johnson in for the win followed by Burley, Brachmann, Just and Robbie Krull.

Rookie competitor Billy Coleman of Ransomville captured the win aboard the Original Pizza Logs Sportsman main event. Coleman inherited the lead on lap seven after fellow rookie contender Andy Smith made contact with the turn two concrete barrier and ended his night. Coleman would distance himself from the remainder of the field, enjoying a 10-car length advantage with 10 laps to go. Coleman took his very first win in an open-wheeled racer followed by Krull, Jipp Ortiz, Don Barnes and Justin Sharp.

Brandon Sherwood of Sanborn went back to back in the Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock division. After claiming the win the week prior, Sherwood did the trick once again last Friday aboard the 20-lap main event. Sherwood took the top spot away from Mike Greenawalt on lap six, and went on to maintain the lead through a caution filled event and take the win. Jason Meyer finished in second followed by Jake Stefanski, Mike Short and Mike Greenawalt.

Defending Gippster's Collision 4 Banger Champion Marika Morris captured her first win of the season aboard the 12-lap Bobcat of Buffalo Fireball feature. Morris took the lead away from fellow female competitor Ashley Harbison on lap four and quickly established herself as the one to beat. Morris would hold off current point's leader Jim Stone for the big win. Stone came home in second followed by Chris Leone, Zach Sam and Patrick O'Keefe.

Pit Notes

Coming up: Battle at the Border, Tuesday, July 3 - $5,000 to win Modified 75; and the 28th Alex Friesen Summer Nationals, Friday, Aug. 17 - $10,000 to win Modified 100. For details, visitwww.ransomvillespeedway.com.

Order of Finish

Mighty Taco Modified Feature Finish - Danny Johnson, Todd Burley, Chad Brachmann, Dave Just, Robbie Krull, Pete Bicknell, Tim Currier, Scott Kerwin, Jeff McGinnis, Mat Williamson, Erick Rudolph, Steve Schumacher, Ricky Richner, Ryan Susice, Brian Sage, Phil Vigneri, Rick Vinson, Boyd MacTavish, Jon Miller, Scott Just, Nick Joy, Justin Wright, Tommy Flannigan, John Smith and Anthony Rizzardo. FindItQuick.com Heat Winners - Dave Just, Todd Burley and Justin Wright.

Original Pizza Logs Sportsman Feature Finish - Billy Coleman, Scott Krull, Jipp Ortiz, Don Barnes, Justin Sharp, Chris Burek, Nate Reynolds, Don Spatorico, Jesse Cotriss, Greg Martin, James Henry, Kevin Wills, Sandy Pembleton, Andy Jankowiak, Brett Martin, Mike Williams, Dave Conant, Matt Farnham, Gordon Hermanson, Allan Wills, Steve Miller and Andy Smith. Heat Winners - Don Barnes, Jipp Ortiz and Justin Sharp.

Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish - Brandon Sherwood, Jason Meyer, Jake Stefanski, Mike Short, Mike Greenawalt, Charles Harvey, Derrick Borkenhagen, Gerald Poole, Jaren Israel, Alex Morris, Randy Zimmerman, Ken Camidge, Jesse Johnston, Colton Gilbert, Neil Pafk, Cliff Brucker, Ryan Stephenson, Pat Dell, Cliff Gregg, Sean Letts, Webb Nashwinter, Andrew Neiderhoffer, Don Hermanson, Tim Hall and Nathan Zimmerman. Heat Winners - Ryan Stephenson and Mike Greenawalt.

Bobcat Of Buffalo Fireball Feature Finish - Marika Morris, Jim Stone, Chris Leone, Zach Sam, Patrick O'Keefe, Jon Stoelting, Dick Wilkinson, Dave Dussault, Brett Rowles, Eric Tupper, Anthony Hermanson, Ashley Harbison, Chris Lederhouse, Gary Watier, Steve Matson, Jim Harbison and Don Spillman. Heat Winners - Dick Wilkinson and Jim Harbison.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News