Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Super Bowl XLVII highlights CBS schedule

by jmaloni
Wed, Apr 18th 2012 12:10 pm

Highlighted by Super Bowl XLVII on Feb. 3, 2013, from New Orleans, the CBS Television Network marks its 53rd year of coverage of the NFL by broadcasting a total of 105 games during its 17weeks of regular-season coverage of the NFL's American Football Conference. The regular-season schedule is followed by a full post-season slate including an AFC Wild Card playoff game on Jan. 6, 2013, two divisional playoff games on Jan. 12 and 13, the AFC Championship Game on Jan. 20, and Super Bowl XLVII

CBS Sports' coverage of Super Bowl XLVII marks the 18th time the network will broadcast the Super Bowl with the last being in 2010 when the New Orleans Saints defeated the Indianapolis Colts in Miami.

New England, Houston and Cincinnati slated for 11 appearances; Denver, Baltimore and New York Jets set for 10 appearances; Pittsburgh and San Diego to make nine appearances

Last year's Super Bowl XLVI runner-up and AFC Champions New England Patriots, AFC South Champions Houston Texans and the Cincinnati Bengals will appear 11 times each on "The NFL on CBS." The AFC West Champions and Peyton Manning-led Denver Broncos, AFC North Champions Baltimore Ravens and the New York Jets will make 10 appearances each; while the Pittsburgh Steelers and San Diego Chargers will make nine appearances each; the Tennessee Titans, Kansas City Chiefs and Oakland Raiders are slated for 12 appearances each; and the Indianapolis Colts, Jacksonville Jaguars, Buffalo Bills, Miami Dolphins and Cleveland Browns 13 times each.

►Nine "NFL on CBS" doubleheader weekends

 The broadcast schedule, which includes nine doubleheader weekends, features several of last year's powerhouse teams in the AFC and key AFC-NFC match-ups including:


  • Denver-New England (10/7)
  • Pittsburgh-Baltimore (12/2)
  • Denver-Baltimore (12/16)
  • San Diego-Denver (11/18)
  • New York Jets-Pittsburgh (9/16)


  • Pittsburgh-New York Giants (11/4)
  • Pittsburgh-Dallas (12/16)
  • Cleveland-Dallas (11/18)
  • Cleveland-New York Giants (10/7)
  • Baltimore-Philadelphia (9/16)
  • Kansas City-New Orleans (9/23)
  • Buffalo-San Francisco (10/7)

Other AFC-NFC match-ups during the season include: Baltimore-Washington (12/9), Jacksonville-Green Bay (10/28), Tennessee-Green Bay (12/23), Denver-Carolina (11/11) and Miami-San Francisco (12/9)

AFC divisional rivalries

Along with near-weekly divisional battles, AFC games highlighted include Peyton Manning's first game on CBS as a Denver Bronco; Houston-Denver (9/23), New York Jets-New England (10/21), Indianapolis-New England (11/18) and Week 17 with teams from the four AFC Divisions squaring off against each other in games that could have major playoff implications: New York Jets-Buffalo, Miami-New England, Baltimore-Cincinnati, Cleveland-Pittsburgh, Houston-Indianapolis, Jacksonville-Tennessee, Kansas City-Denver andOakland-San Diego (12/30/12).

London calling

 In Week 8 (10/28), "The NFL on CBS," for the fourth-of-the-past-five years, travels across the Atlantic Ocean to cover the New England Patriots-St. Louis Rams clash live from Wembley Stadium in London.

Thanksgiving day game

 Thanksgiving day (11/22) will feature the Houston Texans at Detroit Lions.

►Opening kick-off

"The NFL on CBS" kicks off Week 1 with singleheader coverage on Sunday, Sept. 9 (Noon), beginning with "The NFL Today," the network's pre-game studio show. The day's NFL action is highlighted by an AFC-NFC tilt between Indianapolis and Chicago and New England taking on Tennessee. Other regional action that day on "The NFL on CBS" includesJacksonville-Minnesota, Buffalo-New York Jets and Miami-Houston games live on the CBS Television Network.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News