Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

CBS: new contract extensions with late night stars David Letterman, Craig Ferguson

by jmaloni
Tue, Apr 3rd 2012 04:40 pm

CBS has reached agreements with David Letterman and Craig Ferguson for contract extensions to host their respective late night franchises - "The Late Show" and "The Late Late Show" - through 2014, it was announced today by Nina Tassler, president, CBS Entertainment. Both series are produced by Worldwide Pants Inc.

During the course of this agreement, Letterman, who premiered in late night in 1982, would become the longest-running late night talk show host in television history, surpassing the current record of 30 years by Johnny Carson.

As part of this new deal, "The Late Late Show" will move to a larger stage at CBS Television City in Los Angeles, and CBS will co-produce the series with Worldwide Pants.

"David Letterman is a late night legend with an iconic show and Craig Ferguson continues to evolve the genre in exciting and innovative ways," Tassler said. "These new agreements deliver ongoing high-quality entertainment for our audience and continued strength and stability for CBS in late night."

Letterman has been credited with redefining the talk-show genre when "Late Night with David Letterman" premiered Feb. 1, 1982. The groundbreaking show earned a Peabody Award, five Emmy Awards and 35 Emmy nominations during its 111/2 years on the air. Since its debut on CBS on Aug. 30, 1993, "The Late Show with David Letterman" has been honored with nine Emmy Awards, including six for "Outstanding Variety, Music or Comedy Program," and a staggering 70 Emmy nominations.

Since its debut in 2005, "The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson" has won critical acclaim for its unpredictable style and its host's versatility and charm. The Scottish-born actor, writer, director and producer has brought a unique approach to late night television, earning the show a Peabody Award in 2009 and its host an Emmy Award nomination in 2006. The program's signatures include an extended, unscripted monologue and guest interviews noted for their freewheeling nature.

"The Late Show" is broadcast weeknights (11:35 p.m.) on the CBS Television Network. Barbara Gaines, Matt Roberts, Jude Brennan, Maria Pope, Eric Stangel, Justin Stangel and Rob Burnett are the executive producers. "The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson" is broadcast weeknights at 12:37-1:37 a.m. Peter Lassally is the executive producer; Michael Naidus is the producer.

Hometown News

View All News