Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

World's best golfers compete for coveted green jacket at 2012 Masters

by jmaloni
Tue, Apr 3rd 2012 07:00 am

CBS Sports broadcasts Masters for 57th consecutive year

Masters is longest-running sporting event broadcast on one network

Press release

The Masters, the most renowned tournament in golf, will be broadcast on CBS for the 57th consecutive year from the majestic setting of Augusta National Golf Club in Augusta, Ga. This year marks the 76th Masters Tournament, one of the most highly anticipated sporting events of the year. Last year, South African Charl Schwartzel won his first Green Jacket with a record-setting birdie run on the final four holes. His birdie on the 18th hole capped off one of the most thrilling conclusions in the history of the tournament as Schwartzel overtook Rory McIlroy, the 54-hole leader, Jason Day, Adam Scott, Tiger Woods, Geoff Ogilvy and Luke Donald.

CBS Sports will bring viewers all the color, artistry and drama inherent to the world's most prestigious golf tournament and first major of the year with live third-round coverage of the Masters on Saturday, April 7 (3:30 to 7 p.m.). Final-round 18-hole coverage is scheduled for Sunday, April 8 (2 until 7 p.m.). Highlights of early-round play will be presented by CBS Sports on Thursday, April 5, and Friday, April 6 (11:35-11:50 p.m.).

For the 27th consecutive year, Jim Nantz will cover the Masters for CBS (his 25th year as host). He also handles coverage of the highlight shows, originating from Butler Cabin on the grounds of Augusta National. Three-time Masters champion Sir Nick Faldo joins Nantz in the 18th hole tower as lead analyst. Peter Oosterhuis will describe the action at the 17th hole; Verne Lundquist, the 16th hole; David Feherty, the 15th hole and highlight shows; Bill Macatee, the 14th hole; Peter Kostis, the 13th hole; and Ian Baker-Finch will tell the story at the 11th and 12th holes. Grant Boone and Matt Gogel call the live streaming video action for "Amen Corner," along with Jerry Foltz and Billy Ray Brown for 15 and 16 and Andrew Catalon and Billy Kratzert for featured group and Jennifer Mills, Peter Oosterhuis and Kratzert call the action for "Masters On The Range."

Augusta National, home of the Masters since its inception in 1934, is the unrivaled host to the world's greatest players and the most memorable moments in golf. Schwartzel returns to Augusta to lead the tournament field of invitees, which is considered America's most prestigious gathering of professional and amateur golfers. The 2012 tournament field of invitees expected to compete includes past Masters champions: Woods, Phil Mickelson, Angel Cabrera, Vijay Singh, Mike Weir, Jose Maria Olazabal, Mark O'Meara, Trevor Immelman, Larry Mize, Ben Crenshaw, Fred Couples, Craig Stadler, Tom Watson, Zach Johnson, Bernhard Langer, Ian Woosnam and Sandy Lyle; other U.S. players: Keegan Bradley, Dustin Johnson, Rickie Fowler, Bubba Watson, Jim Furyk, Steve Stricker, Stewart Cink, Sean O'Hair, Nick Watney, Hunter Mahan and Matt Kuchar. Other international stars include Donald, McIlroy, Scott, Day, Ogilvy, Lee Westwood, Ian Poulter, Ryo Ishikawa, Graeme McDowell, Louis Oosthuizen, Padraig Harrington, Martin Laird, Justin Rose, Sergio Garcia, Tim Clark, Martin Kaymer, Paul Casey, Miguel Angel Jimenez, Aaron Baddeley, Y.E. Yang and Darren Clarke.

For the complete 2012 Masters Tournament invitees, log onto www.masters.com.

comments powered by Disqus