Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Ransomville Speedway: Brachmann crowned modified champion

by jmaloni
Fri, Sep 9th 2011 05:35 pm

by Tana Robinson

Ransomville Speedway Marketing and PR Director

Chad Brachmann of Sanborn won the Mighty Taco Modified main and his first 358 modified title at Ransomville Speedway on Sept. 2. Brachmann came from 11th place to the point position on lap 33 and quickly pulled away from the field aboard the 50-lap main.

Brachmann said in victory lane that he knew the only chance he had was to "win the race and let the chips fall where they may. This place is awesome," said Brachmann in victory lane.

"The track is consistent - the track management does a great job. It's so awesome to win a title here and be in the same group as Bicknell, Burley and the Johnsons," he said.

Brachmann claimed his second win of the season aboard his Mighty Taco/Powertrip/FindItQuick.com-sponsored No. 3 entry. Ryan Susice enjoyed his best finish of the season in second after leading much of the main. Scott Kerwin, Robbie Krull and Todd Burley rounded out the top five.

Burley secured second in points followed by Pete Bicknell. Bicknell came into the event with an eight-point advantage over Burley and 14 points over Brachmann. Burley came home fifth while Bicknell finished 10th.

Don Spatorico of Ransomville won the 30-lap Original Pizza Logs Sportsman main and the 2011 title last Friday night. In his second win of the season, Spatorico took the lead away from Mike Williams on lap 19 and was not seriously challenged after that point. Piloting his Investor's Services-sponsored No. 5 machine, Spatorico held off a late race challenge by Justin Wright. Wright came home in the second position, followed by Greg Martin, Williams and Allan Wills. Jipp Ortiz had crossed the line in third, but he was disqualified for a rules infraction.

Jaren Israel of Wilson captured the win in the 25-lap Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock main event. Israel used his front row starting status to his advantage and quickly established himself as the car to beat. Israel built up a large advantage by the midway point and never looked back. It was his third win of the season.

Gerald Poole, Jake Stefanski, Billy Coleman and Jesse Johnston rounded out the top five. Coleman came from 10th to place in the top five finish. Don Moulden made his Streetstock debut, having moved up from the 4-cylinder ranks. Derrick Borkenhagen leads the points going into the final week over Coleman.

Jamie Woods of Youngstown took top honors aboard the Bobcat of Buffalo Fireball 12-lap main. Woods used a move to the inside of Dick Wilkinson on lap seven to secure the top spot and never looked back. Woods piloted his Tim Hortons-sponsored No. 26 to the checkered for the third time in 2011, followed by Wilkinson, Ashley Harbison, Chris Leone, and Jon Stoelting.

Hometown News

View All News