Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Ransomville Speedway: Flannigan, Ortiz, Dell and Sheehan win

by jmaloni
Fri, Aug 19th 2011 10:30 pm

by Tana Robinson

Ransomville Speedway Marketing and PR Director

Another gorgeous night greeted race fans and drivers last Friday, Aug. 12, for a full card of racing at Ransomville Speedway, presented by Tim Hortons and LocalEdge. Some 200 VIP guests filled the Bud Towers and another 2,000 jammed the grandstands for a hot night of racing.

Tommy Flannigan of St. Catharines, Ontario, was victorious for the second time in 2011 aboard the Mighty Taco Modified division. Taking the lead just after the midway point of the 30-lap main, Flannigan would hold off Pete Bicknell and Mat Williamson for the win.

Bicknell and Williamson put on a great show for the fans as they battled for the runner-up position with Bicknell getting the edge on the final circuit. Chad Brachmann came from the 13th starting position to post fourth, followed by Rich Vinson.

Jipp Ortiz of Ransomville captured his second win in as many weeks aboard the Original Pizza Logs Sportsman 25-lap main event. Ortiz took the lead away from Dave Conant with just a few laps remaining and cruised to victory. After suffering some extremely bad luck the prior few weeks, Ortiz now seems to have all systems functioning as the season begins to wind down. Conant held on for second, followed by Jesse Cotriss, Allan Wills and Don Spatorico. Cotriss came from the 12th place starting position to post the top-five finish.

Pat Dell of Niagara Falls won his first Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock main of the 2011 season after taking the lead on lap eight of the 28-lap main. Dell took the top spot away from Charles Harvey and cruised to victory over Mike Greenawalt, Mike Short, Chris Burek and Andy Smith. Smith came from the 12th place starting position to post the top-five finish. Harvey had led the first eight circuits, but later succumbed to mechanical woes.

Dave Sheehan captured his first win of the season aboard the Gippsters Collision 4 Banger division. Sheehan took the lead at the drop of the green and built up a sizable lead before a caution late in the race slowed the pace. Sheehan led the field back to green and maintained it the remaining two laps. Richard Zellner, Marika Morris and Mike Hossfeld battled for position in the final laps with Zellner hanging on for second. Morris was able to get around Hossfeld for third and further pad her points lead. Gordon Gau rounded out the top five.

Jeff York used a move to the outside of Alex Morris on the final circuit to take over the point position and the win. The pair traded paint through the white flag lap, giving the fans a great show. Morris finished in second followed by Jesse Cotriss, Jeremy Stahl and Michael Robinson.

Mighty Taco Modified Feature Finish

Tommy Flannigan, Pete Bicknell, Mat Williamson, Chad Brachmann, Rich Vinson, Todd Burley, Robbie Krull, Pat Vigneri, Anthony Rizzardo, Scott Just, Scott Kerwin, Ricky Richner, Steve Schumacher, Brian Sage, Randy Chrysler, Justin Sharp, Bob Broomfield, Jon Miller, Dave Just, John Smith, Ryan Susice, Boyd MacTavish and Jeff McGinnis. Heat winners - Robbie Krull, Anthony Rizzardo and Jon Miller.

Original Pizza Logs Sportsman Feature Finish

Jipp Ortiz, Dave Conant, Jesse Cotriss, Allan Wills, on Spatorico, Mike Williams, James Henry, Justin Wright, Kevin Wills, Scott Krull, Sandy Pembleton, Greg Martin, Mark Chiddy, Rich Legace, Chuck Kuhn, Steve Miller, Gordon Hermanson and Greg Martin. Heat winners - Dave Conant and Greg Martin.

Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish

Pat Dell, Mike Greenawalt, Mike Short, Chris Burek, Andy Smith, Jake Stefanski, Derrick Borkenhagen, Gerald Poole, Jesse Johnston, Roger Israel, Billy Coleman, Chad Livermore, Jennifer Greenawalt, Webb Nashwinter, Ken Camidge, Charles Harvey, Donald Hermanson, Timmy Kott and Jaren Israel. Heat winners - Ken Camidge and Mike Greenawalt.

Gippsters Collision 4 Bangers

Dave Sheehan, Richard Zellner, Marika Morris, Mike Hossfeld, Gordon Gau, Michael Kramarz, Jose Torres, Kenny Washburn III, Mike Pahl, Ed Martin, Joey Zimmerman, Brett Rowles, Robin Nashwinter, Greg Jeffery, Camille Fuller, Don Spillman, Anthony Hermanson, Chad Desso, Don Mouden and LisaMarie Dussault.Heat winners - Mike Pahl and Dan Zellner.

comments powered by Disqus