Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Ransomville Speedway: Wright is right at Big R's Sportsman Nationals

by jmaloni
Fri, Aug 5th 2011 03:15 pm

by Tana Robinson

Marketing & PR Director, Ransomville Speedway

Early morning showers gave way to clear blue skies Friday evening, July 29, in the small hamlet of Ransomville. Mother Nature certainly helped the Ransomville Speedway maintenance crew provide a very racy and tacky track surface. Plenty of side-by-side racing entertained fans in the grandstands and VIP towers.

Justin Wright of Piffard took home a cool grand with his win in the Grelak Mechanical Sportsman Nationals 50. Wright inherited the lead prior to half way after then-leader Jipp Ortiz made contact with the turn one wall trying to avoid a spun lapped car. Wright was able to maintain the top spot and collect his second win in the division for 2011. Point's leader Don Spatorico came home in second followed by Jesse Cotriss, Mark Chiddy and Cody McPherson.

Scott Kerwin of Newfane enjoyed his second win of the season aboard the Mighty Taco Modified division. Taking the lead away from Bob Broomfield on lap six, Kerwin never looked back aboard his BlueCross BlueShield/NMCC-sponsored No. 7K entry. Kerwin took the win in the 30-lap main followed by defending track champion Todd Burley. Fresh off his win a week prior, Burley came from the 15th starting position. Robbie Krull finished in the third position after starting 11th. Mat Williamson came from the 20th position to claim fourth followed by Pete Bicknell in fifth.

Roger Israel captured his first win of the season aboard the 20-lap Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock main. Some dismal finishes as of late put Israel in the front row for the feature start. He certainly used this to his advantage as he took the lead at the drop of the green and maintained it the entire distance. Israel held off Chris Burek at the line for the win. Pat Dell, Billy Coleman and Mike Short rounded out the top five.

Ed Martin of Ransomville captured his second Gippsters Collision 4 Banger feature event. Not only was it his second win of the season but the wins came back to back - a feat tough to accomplish. Martin took the lead on lap nine when current leader Michael Kramarz made contact with the turn two wall. Jose Torres came home a strong second after leading much of the early portion of the main. Marika Morris, Mike Hossfeld and Dave Sheehan rounded out the top five.

Grelak Mechanical/Dig Safely NY Summary

Grelak Mechanical/Original Pizza Logs Sportsman Feature Finish

Justin Wright, Don Spatorico, Jesse Cotriss, Mark Chiddy, Cody McPherson, Rick Panunte, Greg Martin, Sandy Pembleton, Nick Guererri, James Henry, Kevin Wills, Brett Martin, Dave Conant, Adam Leslie, Rich Legace, Mike Williams, Gordon Hermanson, Jipp Ortiz and Allan Wills. Winners - Mike Williams and Jesse Cotriss

Mighty Taco Modified Feature Finish

Scott Kerwin, Todd Burley, Robbie Krull, Mat Williamson, Pete Bicknell, Justin Sharp, Bob Broomfield, Jeff McGinnis, Dave Just, Ricky Richner, Brian Sage, Tommy Flannagan, Chad Brachmann, Randy Chrysler, Ryan Susice, Steve Schumacher, Boyd MacTavish, Anthony Rizzardo, Roger Chrylser, John Smith, Scott Just, Jon Miller, Pat Vigneri and Rich Vinson. Heat Winners - Pat Vigneri, Steve Schumacher, and Scott Just.

Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish

Roger Israel, Chris Burek, Pat Dell, Billy Coleman, Mike Short, Mike Greenawalt, Gerald Poole, Andy Smith, Jesse Johnston, Kyle Wendt, Jerry Gradl, Derrick Borkenhagen, Jennifer Greenawalt, Mark Minutolo, Jake Stefanski, Timmy Kott, Jaren Israel, Chad Livermore, Webb Nashwinter, Charles Harvey and Ken Camidge. Heat Winners - Roger Israel and Jake Stefanski.

Gippsters Collision 4 Bangers Feature Finish

Ed Martin, Jose Torres, Marika Morris, Mike Hossfeld, Dave Sheehan, Don Moulden, Gordon Gau, Richard Zellner, Mike Pahl, Joey Zimmerman, Robin Nashwinter, Brett Rowles, Chad Desso, Ronel Laviz, Michael Kramarz, Don Spillman, Eric Tupper, Michael Vincton, Anthony Hermanson and Kenny Washburn III. Heat Winners - Jose Torres and Richard Zellner.

Hometown News

View All News