Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Ransomville Speedway: Borkenhagen wins Streetstock mid-season championship

by jmaloni
Fri, Jul 22nd 2011 11:25 pm

by Tana Robinson

Marketing and PR Director, Ransomville Speedway

An absolutely gorgeous night greeted race fans and drivers last Friday for the Investor's Services and RPM-sponsored event. A five-division program was on tap, resulting in the largest car count of the season, coming in at 111.

Tommy Flannagan of St. Catharines, Ontario, visited victory lane aboard the 30-lap Mighty Taco Modified main. Flannagan took the lead away from Anthony Rizzardo on lap 19 and quickly pulled away. Flannagan took the very popular win over Todd Burley who came from the 15th position.

Chad Brachmann enjoyed a third-place finish, allowing him to close the points margin with leader Pete Bicknell. Ryan Susice and Ricky Richner rounded out the top five. Rizzardo failed to make weight, resulting in a 26th place finish.

Greg Martin of Youngstown collected the win in the 25-lap Original Pizza Logs Sportsman main. Martin became the first repeat winner for the 2011 season aboard the open-wheeled division. He took command early on and held off veteran Don Spatorico for the checkered flag.

Sandy Pembleton, Justin Wright and Brett Martin rounded out the top five. Wright came from the last starting position to the top five.

Derrick Borkenhagen won the Investor's Services/RPM mid-season championship 40-lap main aboard the Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock ranks. Borkenhagen had a hard-fought battle en route to the win as Jaren Israel was glued to his back bumper in the closing laps. Israel tried just a bit too hard as the white flag flew, resulting in Pat Dell getting by for the runner-up spot. Israel held on for third, followed by Brandon Sherwood and Webb Nashwinter. Mike Short had led the first 25 laps uncontested until a right front flat ended his quest for victory.

Matt Matson of Ransomville visited victory lane for the first time in 2011 aboard the 12-lap Bobcat of Buffalo Fireball Division. Matson took command of the feature main at the drop of the green and maintained it through the checkered flag. Jonathon Stoelting, Chris Lederhouse, Jim Harbison and Gary Watier rounded out the top five.

Ed Martin captured his first win of the season aboard the 12-lap Gippsters Collision 4 Banger main. Martin took control early on and was never seriously challenged after that point. Marika Morris, Dave Sheehan, Mike Pahl and Martin Deming rounded out the top five.

Investor's Services/RPM Summary

Mighty Taco Modifieds Feature Finish

Tommy Flannagan, Todd Burley, Chad Brachmann, Ryan Susice, Ricky Richner, Robbie Krull, Chuck Hossfeld, Jeff McGinnis, Rich Vinson, Randy Chrysler, Danny Johnson, Pete Bicknell, Mat Williamson, Scott Kerwin, Dave Just, Scott Just, Brian Sage, Bob Broomfield, Justin Sharp, Steve Schumacher, Pat Vigneri, Jon Miller, John Smith, Rick Hoctor, Boyd MacTavish and Anthony Rizzardo. Heat winners - Tommy Flannagan, Anthony Rizzardo and Danny Johnson.

Original Pizza Logs Sportsman Feature Finish

Greg Martin, Don Spatorico, Sandy Pemblton, Justin Wright, Brett Martin, Jesse Cotriss, Dave Conant, James Henry, Mike Williams, Ed Cain, Kevin Wills, Jipp Ortiz, Mark Chiddy, Allan Wills, Steve Miller, Derrick Smith, Chuck Kuhn, Rich Legace, Gordon Hermanson, Dan Norton and Scott Krull. Heat winners - Jipp Ortiz and Jesse Cotriss.

Ki-Po Chevrolet Streetstock Feature Finish

Derrick Borkenhagen, Pat Dell, Jaren Israel, Brandon Sherwood, Webb Nashwinter, Gerald Poole, Chris Burek, Kyle Wendt, Mike Greenawalt, Jon Richael, Billy Coleman, Charles Harvey, Ken Camidge, Gary Camidge, Mike Short, Chad Livermore, Jennifer Greenawalt, Jesse Johnston, Timmy Kott, Roger Israel, Jake Stefanski, Jerry Gradl and Donald Hermanson. Heat winners - Jerry Gradl and Jaren Israel.

Bobcat Of Buffalo Fireball Feature Finish

Matt Matson, Jonathon Stoelting, Chris Lederhouse, Jim Harbison, Gary Watier, Gerry Gipp, Dick Wilkinson, Ryan Stephenson, Jim Stone, Rick Hess, Chris Leone, Chad Lederhouse, Patrick OKeefe, Trevor Goble, Ashley Harbison, Jamie Woods and Matt Mouldon. Heat winners - Matt Matson and Chad Lederhouse.

Gippsters Collision 4 Bangers Feature Finish

Ed Martin, Marika Morris, Dave Sheehan, Mike Pahl, Martin Deming, Gordon Gau, Mike Hossfeld, Richard Zellner, Michael Kramarz, Eric Tupper, Anthony Hermanson, Ronel Laviz, Mark Eaton, Ken Nashwinter III, Lisa Marie Dussault, Brett Rowles, BobbiLynn Spillman, Michael Vincton, Jose Torres, Camille Fuller, Don Moulden and Joey Zimmerman. Heat winners - Ed Martin and Dan Zellner.

Pit Notes

Coming up, the Alex Friesen Summer Nationals on Friday, Aug. 19, will feature a $10,000-to win-modified 100.

Hometown News

View All News